Choose to Forgive

forgiveness1

Genesis 50:19-21 (NIV)

19 But Joseph said to them, “Don’t be afraid. Am I in the place of God? 20 You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives. 21 So then, don’t be afraid. I will provide for you and your children.” And he reassured them and spoke kindly to them.

 

When Joseph’s brothers came to Egypt looking for help in the midst of a devastating famine, he could have tossed them out of the country or even something worse.  They had once been so jealous of their father’s love for Joseph that they contemplated killing him before eventually selling him into slavery and into what they likely assumed would be a life of misery.

None of them could have known that Joseph would rise up to become the second-most powerful man in the country, behind only Pharaoh himself.  Imagine what it must have been like for Joseph to see his brothers come before him in obvious need.  Rather than exacting some sort of revenge, Joseph forgave his brothers for the terrible things they had done to him.

John Flavel, who was an English Presbyterian clergyman, puritan, and author, who lived in the 1600’s, said, “Sometimes God makes use of instruments for good to His people, who designed nothing but evil and mischief for them.  Thus Joseph’s brethren were instrumental to his advancement in that very thing in which they designed his ruin.”

When we’ve been wronged, it sometimes hurts profoundly.  We might be tempted to lash out in retaliation against the on who hurt us.  As difficult as it is, though, Christians are called to forgive.  Joseph’s story is a good illustration of forgiveness, and Jesus is the ultimate example.  Can you think of someone, or maybe even a few people, whom you should considering pardoning?  Taking that first step might be one of the hardest things we’ve ever done, but it’s an important step that demonstrates love and obedience to God.

Here are two important questions I want us to ponder today:

Why do you think God wants us to forgive those who have wronged us?

What keeps us from forgiving others?

When we can find it in our hearts to forgive someone, even though society might say we are crazy to do so, we are opening our souls up for a peace greater than we may have ever experienced before.  When we refuse to not forgive, the person we punish the most is ourselves.  Life is full of way too much stress for us to refuse an opportunity for internal peace.  Choose to forgive.  It can make all the difference in your life, and in the life of the person you forgive.

 

 

 

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Attitude, Bible, Change, Communication, Decisions, Forgiveness, God, Hope, Inspirational, Jesus, Love, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Salvation, Sin, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

