What if Jesus Were You?

Jesus 7

What if, for 24 hours, Jesus wakes up in your bed, walks in your shoes, lives in your house, assumes your schedule?  Your boss becomes His boss, your mother becomes His mother, your pains become His pains?  With one exception, nothing about your life changes.  Your health doesn’t change.  Your circumstances don’t change.  Your schedule isn’t altered.  Your problems aren’t solved.  Only one change occurs.

What if, for one day and one night, Jesus live your life with His heart?  Your heart gets the day off, and your life is led by the heart of Christ.  His priorities govern your actions.  His passions drive your decisions.  His love directs your behavior.

What would you be like?  Would people notice a change?  Your family- would they see something new?  Your co-workers – would they sense a difference?  What about the less fortunate?

-excerpt taken from Max Lucado, Just Like Jesus

 

This really makes me think.  I like to think that I live my life in a way that somewhat resembles the way that Jesus lived His life, but do I really?  Do I treat my boss with the same love and respect that Jesus shows towards God, His boss?  Do I treat those around me the way Jesus would?  Do I love others as much as he would?  Am I able to forgive like He did?

Unfortunately, I think that if Jesus took my place for a whole day, people would really notice a difference.  They would see a me that is better than me on even my best days.  People would see me clearly living my life the way I was designed by God to live.  I think people would honestly wonder what had happened to me.  That makes me sad when I realize that.  I want to be more like Jesus, I just have some trouble executing it on a daily basis.

I think if people really look within themselves, they will see that we all fall short of living our lives as Jesus would if he were in our bodies for a day.

Trying to live a life like Jesus would is a goal that can’t be reached on this side of heaven.  No matter how hard we try, we can’t do it.  That can be depressing thought.  But that is not the point.  It is not important that we reach this goal during our lives here on earth.  What is important is that we actively pursue that goal and try to do it.  Over time and through many trials, we become better at it and get closer to the goal.  As a reward, when we die, we get new bodies and we get to be like Jesus.  I would say that is a pretty good reward.

Maybe the next time I see someone in need, I will take the time to stop and help them instead of just going on with my day.  When I do, I can smile knowing that there is a piece of Jesus in me.  Ultimately, that is the point isn’t it?

On this day of this great election, it is really easy for everyone to say that we have no good candidates for President.  Maybe there isn’t.  Everyone can say that our government has failed us.  Maybe they have.  Everyone can say that our country is falling apart.  Maybe it is.

We all want change and we are looking towards a magical President who can bring us that.  It doesn’t work that way.  Change comes from each one of us.  We all have to look within ourselves and see that we can do better, and then go do it.  If you believe in Jesus, then a part of Him is inside of you and goes wherever you go.  We just need to let that light shine out onto others.

I know who I am voting for today, but ultimately, it really doesn’t matter because I know that God has everything under His control.  He will ultimately allow things that are the best for us and I trust that He will protect us and always care for us, even through the very darkest days, which could very well be on the way.

When Jesus lived on earth, he was hated by many people.  If he were running for President today, I highly doubt He would get elected.  Jesus goes against many of the things that this world treats as idols.  Sometimes the more popular choice isn’t always the right choice.  That is something you can decide and that is what makes our country great.

So get out there and vote today, knowing that your voice does count.  Think of all those people who sacrificed so that you could have the right to do that.  Let’s have faith that God will protect us and let’s not be afraid to bring Him back into the public eye.  Lastly, let’s all resolve ourselves to act a little more like Jesus today.  Let’s love openly to all our brothers and sisters.  Let’s forgive others when they do mean and wrong things to us.  Let’s serve each other and help each other up when one of us falls.

If you really want to make America great again, this is what you need to do!  Now let’s go do it!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Attitude, Change, Decisions, Evangelism, Growth, Image, Influence, Inspirational, Jesus, Leaving a Legacy, Love, Motivational, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Salvation, Serving, Sin, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What if Jesus Were You?

  1. Sandy Marsau says:

    Very well written, Bill. I am so proud of the man you have become! Sandy

Leave a Reply

