You Are My Hero

star trek

Our culture seems to be fascinated by superheroes.  From The Avengers to Man of Steel, there have been more movies featuring superheroes in the past few years than ever before.  Our society seems to be absolutely obsessed with heroes, both fictional and real.  People want someone who they can look to that displays all the traits that they want for themselves, but are not able to achieve.

I grew up in the late 70’s and early 80’s and I loved watching my favorite superheroes on TV and can remember wanting to have some of their same traits.  Here is a list of my Top 10 fiction heroes.  I would love for you to share with me who some of your favorite fictional heroes were when you grew up.

Top 10 Fiction Heroes

Captain Kirk

I was a bit of a “trekie” growing up.  I loved watching the original series and the early motion pictures of Star Trek in the early and mid-80’s.  I loved how James T. Kirk, played by William Shatner, would always fight the bad guy and win.  He would usually get the girl too, which was an added bonus.

George Bailey

We usually only think about George Bailey once a year at Christmas time, but he exemplifies what it means to be knocked down and get back up again, even if it takes a little help from up above.

Superman

When you can fly and your only weakness is located on another planet millions of light years away, you’re pretty much set to make any superhero list.  There have been many different people who have played Superman through the years, but for me, it will always be Christopher Reeves.

James Bond

The gadgets, the guns, the lifestyle.  Everyone has wanted to add 007 to their title at some point.  There have been so many amazing James Bond movies through the years, but my favorite Bond would have to be Roger Moore.  Sean Connery would be a close second for me.

Luke Skywalker

“May the force be with you.”  Luke’s story is one I could relate with, as it speaks to generations of young people just coming into their own and finding their way in the world.  Besides, anyone with enough courage to face Darth Vader is pretty courageous in my book.

GI Joe

I loved playing with my GI Joe action figures.  I also loved watching the GI Joe cartoon that was on our 4 channel TV growing up.  There were several characters on the good side and I loved them all.  I loved watching them battle Cobra Commander and all his evil forces.

Incredible Hulk

I loved watching the old TV series.  The one where the hulk was played by Lou Ferrigno.  The green body paint was classic.  To look back on an episode of the show now makes it seem pretty old, but at the time, it was so cool to me.

Six Million Dollar Man

This was the hero on the TV show in early 70’s.  By the time I watched the show, the series was already over and it was in reruns.  I just loved watching Lee Majors as the Bionic ex- astronaut as he would fight the bad guys.  The great thing about these old shows is that the line between the good guys and the bad guys was so clearly drawn.  That doesn’t seem to be the case anymore.

Indiana Jones

As a college professor who moonlighted as a whip-wielding archaeologist, Indy was the perfect blend of intelligence combined with action, making him an iconic and unforgettable adventurer.

Atticus Finch

While he isn’t famous for fighting villains or saving the world, Atticus Finch is a hero who definitely deserves to be on the list by teaching us all what it means to live with integrity and to stand up for what’s right.  He is the everyday man’s hero.

 

It is fun for me to think back on these fictional heroes from my childhood.  As I have grown up, I have learned that there is only one superhero in which I want to emulate.  That person is Jesus.  He is the only man who ever lived who lived a sinless life.  His kindness and compassion towards people is something I find myself trying to emulate.  As I try to become more like Jesus each day of my life, I find that it has heavenly importance and that is what really counts.  We should all try to live each of our days with Him as the One we model our lives after.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Jesus, Remembering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

