Man that Contact Lens is Heavy

ant

A couple of months ago, I came across the story of The Ant and the Contact Lens.  I thought it was great so I wanted to share it with all of you.

 

The Ant and the Contact Lens

A true story by Josh and Karen Zarandona

Brenda was a young woman who was invited to go rock climbing.  Although she was very scared, she went with her group to a tremendous granite cliff.  In spite of her fear, she put on the gear, took a hold on the rope, and started up the face of the rock.

Well, she got to a ledge where she could take a breather.  As she was hanging on there, the safety rope snapped against Brenda’s eye and knocked out her contact lens.

Well, here she is, on a rock ledge, with hundreds of feet below her and hundreds of feet above her.  Of course, she looked and looked and looked, hoping it had landed on the ledge, but it just wasn’t there.  Here she was, far from home, her sight now blurry.  She was desperate and began to get upset, so she prayed to the Lord to help her to find it.

When she got to the top, a friend examined her eye and her clothing for the lens, but there was no contact lens to be found.  She sat down, despondent, with the rest of the party, waiting for the rest of them to make it up the face of the cliff.

She looked out across range after range of mountains, thinking of that Bible verse that says, “The eyes of the Lord run to and fro throughout the whole earth.”  She thought, “Lord, You can see all these mountains.  You know every stone and leaf, and You know exactly where my contact lens is.  Please help me.”

Finally, they walked down the trail to the bottom.  At the bottom there was a new party of climbers just starting up the face of the cliff.  One of them shouted out, “Hey, you guys!  Anybody lose a contact lens?”

Well, that would be startling enough, but you know why the climber saw it?  An ant was moving slowly across the face of the rack, carrying it on its back.

Brenda told me that her father is a cartoonist.  When she told him the incredible story of the ant, the prayer, and the contact lens, he drew a picture of an ant lugging that contact lens with the words, “Lord, I don’t know why you want me to carry this thing.  I can’t eat it, and it’s awfully heavy.  But, if this is what You want me to do, I’ll carry it for You.”

I think it would probably do some of us good to occasionally say, “God, I don’t know why you want me to carry this load.  I can see no good in it and it’s awfully heavy.  But, if you want me to carry it, I will.”

God doesn’t call the qualified, He qualifies the called.  Yes, I do love God.  He is my source of existence and my Savior.  He keeps me functioning each and every day.  “Without Him, I am nothing, but with Him… “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.”  (Philippians 4:13)

 

I really enjoyed this little story.  There were a few things that really stood out to me when I read it.

The first thing was how the ant did not know why he was supposed to carry the contact lens or even what it was for that matter.  All he knew is that he was called to carry it and he did.  He did it without complaining or question.  Are there things that God is calling us to do?  Are there heavy burdens in our lives that we are forced to carry around with us?  Are we willing to do this without question even though we may not know the why?  Are we willing to do it without complaining?  It can be a very hard thing to do.  It is hard to do something when we don’t know why we are doing it or how doing it fits into the big picture.  It is also very hard not to complain while doing it.  Sometimes we complain to others because we want their sympathy for what we are going through.  I know that I have done this on several occasions in my life.  Maybe if I had more of the attitude the ant had, God could have me carry even bigger things than I ever imagined I could.  If we are willing, God is able.

Another thing that struck me is the amazing power of prayer.  God wants to talk to us each and every day.  He wants us to bring all our big issues and struggles so He can help us.  He also wants us to bring our little things to Him.  Nothing is too small to share with Him.  God wants us to bring our big and small joys to Him, not just our struggles.  We should go to God in prayer when we have needs, but we need to go to Him in prayer when we don’t need anything at all.  Just talk to Him like you would any of your other friends.  God is always home and He is always available.  He is never too busy to talk.  He loves you more than anyone else does and He always wants what is best for you.  He is the ideal friend.

In the story, Brenda was in need.  She had lost her contact and without it, she could not see.  She tried and tried on her own to find it, but she couldn’t.  It was at that point that she asked God to help her.  She knew that God knew where it was so she just asked Him to help her find it.  Do you think a God that loves us as much as our God does would ever reject a plea for help made in this fashion with a heart of surrender?  God interceded on her behalf to help her find the contact.  God knew that it would not be found so He had the ant carry it to a place where people would see the ant carrying the contact.  He put those people in that place at that time so they would see the ant carrying it.  He put Brenda in a spot where she would come into the people who found the contact.  God put this whole chain of events into motion just so Brenda’s plea for help would not go unnoticed.  If God is willing to do all that just to find a contact lens, imagine what He is willing to do for the bigger stuff.

Another thing that stuck me is the size perspective.  An ant is so small that we humans are giants compared to them.  They are so small that they are hardly noticeable.  We would pick up and carry a contact around with no trouble at all.  It would not even be heavy enough for us to even feel any weight at all when we pick it up.  That same contact to the ant is huge.  It is bigger and weighs more than the ant’s body does.  It takes all the ants strength to carry that contact that would require almost no effort at all for us to carry.  In comparison, God is so much bigger than us.  We are like the little ants.  We carry our burdens and struggles around with us.  The weight of our load can seem very overwhelming to us at the time.  It might take all the strength we have to carry it around.  That very same burden or struggle that seems so overwhelming to us is so light to God that He can carry it without any effort at all.  It is all a matter of perspective.  God is willing to help us carry our burdens and struggles for us, we just need to be willing to give them to Him.

I think we can all learn some great lessons from this story.  When God calls us to do something, we should do it even if we don’t know why.  We also should not complain while we are doing.  There is a good reason God is asking us to do it, but we just don’t see the big picture from our limited point of view.

We should talk daily to God through prayer.  We should bring both our joys and concerns, our big things and little things.  God will hear our prayers and He will answer our prayers in His time.  The answer may not always be yes, but if it is no, it is for a reason.

We need to think about the ant and how much bigger we are than the ant.  In the same way, God is so much bigger than each of us.  When our load becomes heavy and we grow weary, we need to be willing to give our heavy load to God and let Him carry it for us.

If we can remember these things, we will be a lot better off.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Animals, Attitude, Change, Communication, Decisions, God, Inspirational, Life Stories, Love, Motivational, Prayer, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Serving, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

