Moroccan Eggplant with Garbanzo Beans

moroccan eggplant

Here is a more exotic recipe for you to try.  I am a fan of some middle-eastern, but others, not so much.  This one actually looks pretty good and it does not look like it is too hard to make.  I am a fan of eggplant and I love the flavors that are being incorporated into this dish.

One nice thing about this is that it is packed with flavor, but it is still a healthy recipe.  Also, if you are a vegetarian, this dish looks perfect for you.

This dish would really be great over some plain rice.  Use brown rice if you want to stay extra healthy.  Adding the raisins is a very good move because the sweetness from the raisins will cut out some of the natural heat in the dish from the spices being used.

If you really wanted to add meat to this dish, I would recommend adding shredded chicken or shredded pork.  I think that either one would go very will with this dish and add some additional substance to it.  I would also be inclined to add some crunch by sprinkling nuts over the top.  Peanuts or cashews would be my first choice.

I would like to invite you to step outside of you normal comfort zone and try this dish at home.  Think of it as a culinary adventure.  Let me know how it went for you.  I know that I will be trying it.  Enjoy!

 

What you will need:

1 large onion, cut in half and sliced thin
5 medium cloves garlic, pressed
1 medium red bell pepper, cut in 1-inch squares
1 medium eggplant, cut into 1-inch pieces
pinch of red pepper flakes
2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp gram masala
2 cups or 1 15 oz can garbanzo beans (without BPA)
1 15 oz can lentils, drained
1/2 cup tomato sauce
1-1/4 cups + 1 TBS vegetable broth
1/2 cup raisins
1 TBS chopped fresh cilantro
salt and black pepper to taste

How to make it:

Slice onion and press garlic and let sit for at least 5 minutes to bring out their health-promoting properties.

Heat 1 TBS broth in a 10-12 inch skillet. Healthy Sauté onion in broth over medium heat for 5 minutes, stirring frequently. Add garlic, red bell pepper, eggplant, gram masala, and turmeric. Stir to mix well for a minute, and add broth and tomato sauce. Stir again to mix, cover, and cook over medium low heat for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally, or until peppers and eggplant are tender. This is our Stovetop Braising cooking method.

Add garbanzo beans, lentils, red chili flakes, and raisins. Simmer for another 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper. Top with chopped cilantro.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Cooking, Health and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

