Talking, but Not Doing?

deeds

James 1:22 (NLT)

 

22 But don’t just listen to God’s word. You must do what it says. Otherwise, you are only fooling yourselves.

Among certain people in the Christian community, the Bible is a little like the weather.  Everyone talks about, but no one does anything about it.  Bibles among Christians can be as ubiquitous as the weather.  We tote them off to church or Bible study group, keep them on our desks or night tables, even carry around pocket versions and Bible apps on our cell phones.  You can’t get away from the weather, and when you’re in the company of Christians, you’re never very far from a copy of the Word of God, either.With so many Bibles in our possession and thrust into our attention week-in and week-out, one might expect a bit more of the fruit Scripture describes as issuing from those in whom the Word of God takes deep root.But here we are, as a people and faith more marginal to the social, cultural, and moral issues of the day, and – even for all our Bibles – apparently unable to shape the spiritual “weather” of our generation.  Are we ashamed of the Bible?  Are we just too easily satisfied with the life of faith as we have come to know it?
The Bible describes itself as living and powerful (Heb. 4:12).   It claims to be able to penetrate to the depths of our souls, to excise sin, heal unbelief, and cauterize the wounds of wickedness and spiritual rebellion.  It equips us for every good work, Paul insisted (2 Cor. 3:15-17) and provides a foundation of glory on which we increase into the image of our Lord Jesus Christ (2 Cor. 3:12-18).So where’s the evidence that any of this is true?
Jesus wants us to have a Bible – maybe even many Bibles – and to read and study them daily.
But He wants us to take His Word to heart and to strive, day by day, to work into our lives the promises and hope and power of Scripture, so that we increase in the salvation of the Lord day by day (Phil. 2:12).Over the past couple of years I have made a regular practice of reading the Bible daily and it has made a huge difference in my life.  I have learned so much about God and who He is.  I am able to face each day with a boldness and confidence that was never before possible.  Despite my progress, there is still plenty of room for improvement.  There are days that I don’t “get around to” reading my Bible.  I put the tasks of my day ahead of my relationship with God.  There are times when I read what I should do, but I don’t live it out.  Sometimes I talk a good game, but leave quite a bit to be desired in the doing portion.  This is not good.  I need to continue to improve in this area.

 

Perhaps it’s a good time to review your Bible reading and study practices.  Because if what you’re doing is not leading to a change in the spiritual weather of your soul, then your reading and study are in vain.

If we’re not ashamed of the Bible, then let’s arm ourselves with it, so that God can do His work in and through us with greater power and effects.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Communication, Decisions, God, Influence, Inspirational, Joy, Love, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

