Why Does God Allow Innocent Children to Suffer?

children suffering

If God is such a loving God, then why would he allow innocent children to suffer?  This is a question that gets asked a lot.   I don’t have the full answer, none of us do, because we can’t see the big picture the way God does.  There is some insight we can gain from the Bible though that does shed some more light on the darkness of this question.

Lamentations 2:11-12 (NIV)

11 My eyes fail from weeping,
    I am in torment within;
my heart is poured out on the ground
    because my people are destroyed,
because children and infants faint
    in the streets of the city.

12 They say to their mothers,
    “Where is bread and wine?”
as they faint like the wounded
    in the streets of the city,

as their lives ebb away
    in their mothers’ arms.

Jeremiah’s words are laced with emotional.  Stewing just beneath his grief was an anguished questions:  How could God have permitted these children to suffer?

All people, including children, are born into sin.

Romans 5:12 (NIV)

12 Therefore, just as sin entered the world through one man, and death through sin, and in this way death came to all people, because all sinned—

The sin of Adam and Eve infected each succeeding generation, leading to the suffering and consequences that sin produces.  While these children had not participated in the specific sins that incited God’s wrath, they were not themselves sinless.

Unfortunately, children suffer for their parent’s actions.  This includes crack babies, adult children of alcoholics or teens of emotionally absent parents, among many other things.  In the same way, children, as members of a community, share in the benefits or consequences of that community’s actions, even though they had nothing to do with the decision.  In many countries, children are the victims of the older generation’s war and terrorism.

Some insist that no one but God can be ultimately responsible for such suffering, and perhaps these are the feelings behind Jeremiah’s honest, but bitter complaints.

Lamentations 2:19-20 (NIV)

19 Arise, cry out in the night,
    as the watches of the night begin;
pour out your heart like water
    in the presence of the Lord.
Lift up your hands to him
    for the lives of your children,
who faint from hunger
    at every street corner.

20 “Look, Lord, and consider:
    Whom have you ever treated like this?
Should women eat their offspring,
    the children they have cared for?
Should priest and prophet be killed
    in the sanctuary of the Lord?

Yet God never wanted anyone to suffer.  Death is the natural result of sin.

Romans 6:23 (NIV)

23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life inChrist Jesus our Lord.

Judah could only blame herself for the suffering.

When we see children suffering and tempted to blame God, we need to take a minute and blame ourselves instead, the ones who are really to blame.  All God did was forgive us and love us anyway.  Despite all our wrong, he let His only Son die so that we could have life.  God does not cause children or any of us to suffer so we shouldn’t blame Him.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Decisions, God, Health, Hope, Love, Reinventing Yourself, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Does God Allow Innocent Children to Suffer?

  1. Dear WMARSAU , I was taught that God was in complete control of all things. Things we decide to do, things the weather does, things the rabid dog outside does. Unless He removes Himself from allowing things to happen or not then He allows them by not stopping them or He stops them by not allowing them.
    If this is not true then we are all at the mercy of whatever comes down the road. If it is true then ,like myself, we could all turn out to be nervous wreaks wondering what will happen to us next. Today three children died in a house fire. If the Lord allowed that to happen to innocent children then what might He allow to happen to my family or to me. I’m sorry but I would like a better answer than the one you have given.

Leave a Reply

