Does God Hear Our Prayers?

prayer 1

Psalm 102  (NIV)

Hear my prayer, Lord;
    let my cry for help come to you.
Do not hide your face from me
    when I am in distress.
Turn your ear to me;
    when I call, answer me quickly.

Do you ever feel like when you pray, God is not answering you?  Does it sometimes feel like God is not even listening to you?

One thing we need to understand is that God’s hearing is never impaired.  The bible makes this very clear in Psalm 94.

Psalm 94:9 (NIV)

Does he who fashioned the ear not hear?
    Does he who formed the eye not see?

Part of the problem is that the sections of the bible that use poetry can sometimes picture God as though He was deaf.  A good example of this is found in Deuteronomy 1.

Deuteronomy 1:45 (NIV)

45 You came back and wept before the Lord, but he paid no attention to your weeping and turned a deaf ear to you.

In this passage, it is simply a figurative way to say that God does not always respond to requests as people might want Him to.  Sometimes the answers come only after long delays.  Other times the answers may come in a unrecagnized form or in a manner that the person praying would not have wanted.  We only see a very small part of the big overall picture.

Effective prayer requires that the one praying have the right attitudes: reverence, humility, proper motivation, and purity.  Ineffectual prayer, that which God seems to ignore, often results from the lack of such qualities.  Here are a few examples of some of these undesirable qualities:

Irreverence

God may ignore those who are irreverent.  Irreverence is when you do not respect something or someone.  If you do not come to God with the respect He deserves, you will probably get ignored.

Psalm 50:21 (NIV)

21 When you did these things and I kept silent,
    you thought I was exactly like you.
But I now arraign you
    and set my accusations before you.

 

Pride

God wants to help those who are humble in spirit, not those who are proud.

James 4:6 (NIV)

But he gives us more grace. That is why Scripture says:

“God opposes the proud
    but shows favor to the humble.”

 

Self-seeking

When people pray for selfish reasons, God may refuse their requests.

James 4:3 (NIV)

When you ask, you do not receive, because you ask with wrong motives, that you may spend what you get on your pleasures.

 

Sin

Disobeying God can separate someone from God and cause prayers to go unanswered.

Isaiah 59:1-2 (NIV)

59 Surely the arm of the Lord is not too short to save,
    nor his ear too dull to hear.
But your iniquities have separated
    you from your God;
your sins have hidden his face from you,
    so that he will not hear.

 

Unbelief

Spiritual instability can undermine your prayers.

James 1:6-7 (NIV)

But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind. That person should not expect to receive anything from the Lord.

 

Broken Relationships

A husband’s prayers may be hindered if he has treated his wife disrespectfully.

1 Peter 3:7 (NIV)

Husbands, in the same way be considerate as you live with your wives, and treat them with respect as the weaker partner and as heirs with you of the gracious gift of life, so that nothing will hinder your prayers.

The next time it feels like God is not listening or is not answering your prayers, maybe you should look inside yourself and check the motives of your prayer.  If granting your prayer does not honor God, He isn’t going to waste His time granting your request.  If it is not in our best interest, God won’t do it.  We can all be thankful for that.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Communication, God, Relationships, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

