The Final Word on Finals

finals

Finals week is a dreaded reality for many students.  Surprise deadlines, group projects, and comprehensive exams can lead to a whole lot of stress.

I went through nine years of college and that means I was a part of 16 finals weeks.  No, my math is not bad.  The last year of vet school we were on rotations so there were no finals my last year of vet school.  It was an interesting time because you were so close to being done for the semester, but had to really force yourself to study hard preparing for the final exams so that all your hard work during the semester did not go down the drain in one test.  I can really remember how hard the finals were in vet school.  There is a lot of material covered over the course of a semester of a vet school class and to try to retain all that information can be very challenging indeed.  I can remember my last few finals weeks because my study group and I developed a routine of taking an exam during the day and then immediately going home and trying to go to sleep.  We would then get up at 12 am and study through the night right up until the time of the final.  We would take the final, flush all that information out of our brains and then try to go back to sleep and repeat the process.  Vet school finals were always over by noon on the Thursday of finals week and then we would be off to the bars to celebrate our momentous accomplishment.  There was always a big party at a bar we would rent out on those Thursday nights and we would just have a blast.  It is some of my greatest memories from college.

Even though I am now 11 years removed from taking any finals myself, I can still remember what was involved with them very well so I always feel for people who are taking them currently.  I wish everyone the very best of luck as we approach finals again this semester.

One thing that I have discovered now, that I did not really know then, is that God’s Word is a great resource for the hectic season of finals.  Even a short time spent reading the Bible each day can give you strength, confidence, and a brief break from all the worldly things you are trying to cram into your brain.  Psalms 119 gives some great insight into why reading your Bible during finals week is such a good idea.

Just for fun, I thought I would share with you seven reason why you should read your Bible during finals week backed up by verses straight from Psalm 119.

 

Finals week can lead to some crazy emotions.

Psalm 119:28 (NLT)

28 I weep with sorrow;
    encourage me by your word.

 

You might be tempted by negative distractions (like a four-hour YouTube study break).

Psalm 119:37 (NLT)

37 Turn my eyes from worthless things,
    and give me life through your word.

 

Gorging on Sour Patch Kids to stay awake might end with a devastating sugar crash.

Psalm 119:103 (NLT)

103 How sweet your words taste to me;
    they are sweeter than honey.

 

You might feel like a complete failure.

Psalm 119:25 (NLT)

25 I lie in the dust;
    revive me by your word.

 

More than likely, you’re going to pull an all-nighter.

Psalm 119:105 (NLT)

105 Your word is a lamp to guide my feet
    and a light for my path.

 

Your group project team planned a 6 am meeting.

Psalm 119:147 (NLT)

147 I rise early, before the sun is up;
    I cry out for help and put my hope in your words.

 

You may receive an unfair grade.

Psalm 119:161 (NLT)

161 Powerful people harass me without cause,
    but my heart trembles only at your word.

 

When it’s over, remember to give God credit for helping you through it all.

Psalm 119:162 (NLT)

162 I rejoice in your word
    like one who discovers a great treasure.

 

I hope that each of you will strongly consider keeping God’s Word in front of you each day as you go through this finals week.  It really will help.  I want to wish each and every one of you the very best of luck.  I know it is difficult, but you will come out the other side a better person because of it.  If it were up to me, I would pass each and every one of you.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Attitude, Bible, College, Decisions, God, Hope, Opportunity, Prioritize, Reinventing Yourself, Relaxation, Stress Management, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

