Finding Joy In Your Life (Part 3)

joy 3

In part 1 of this blog series we discussed Philippians 4:8 and how that one verse is the secret to living a joy-filled life.  We also discussed the importance of putting only joy-producing thoughts into your head.  It is a way of controlling your mental diet.  You can read part 1 here.

In part 2 of this blog series we discussed the art of consistently thinking joy-producing thoughts.  We also discussed 4 important questions to ask yourself regarding the thoughts you put in your head.  You can read part 2 here.

Romans 15:13 (NIV)

13 May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

I just love that verse.  It shows that the source of true joy and peace comes directly from God.  If you do not have a relationship with God, it makes it very hard to have any joy in your life.

I have found that when I am spending a greater amount of time in relationship with God (reading my bible, meditating on what I read, and praying), I tend to have more joy in my life.  When I am spending less time with God, the daily trials of life seem to affect me more.  There is a lot less stress when I am in tune with God.

I think that the beginning of Romans 5 sums it up very nicely.

Romans 5:1-5 (NIV)

5 Therefore, since we have been justified through faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ, through whom we have gained access by faith into this grace in which we now stand. And we boast in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we also glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

Billy Sunday, evangelist was once quoted as saying, “What we see as we go through life always depends upon where we stand to look.”  I like that.  Everyone has a different view of how things are and it would benefit us to keep that in mind the next time we don’t agree with what someone else thinks.

So let’s get a little practical here.  We need to fill our minds with joy-producing thoughts, but what exactly are joy-producing thoughts?  Well, that is difficult to answer exactly because everyone finds joy in different things.  What might result in joy in one person, would not be joyous at all to another.  The key is to identify what thoughts cause you joy and focus on thinking those thoughts.

In general, here are some guidelines to keep in mind as far as what kinds of thoughts you choose to think of consciously:

  • think excellent thoughts, not mediocre thoughts
  • think fresh, exciting thoughts, not stale, boring thoughts
  • think compassionate thoughts, not harsh thoughts
  • think loving thoughts, not indifferent thoughts
  • think helpful thoughts, not hurtful thoughts
  • think faith thoughts, not fear thoughts
  • think bold thoughts, not comfort thoughts
  • think opportunity thoughts, not security thoughts
  • think giving thoughts, not getting thoughts
  • think grateful thoughts, not entitled thoughts
  • think responsible thoughts, not irresponsible thoughts
  • think reconciliation thoughts, not retaliation thoughts
  • think positive thoughts, not negative thoughts
  • think thoughts of victory, not thoughts of defeat
  • think about the promises of God, not the problems of this world

As you go through the list above, I would like you to ask yourself two questions.  Which of these thoughts do you find the easiest to choose?  Which of these thoughts do you find the hardest to choose?

As you are working towards thinking better thoughts, a good starting point would be to focus on thoughts that comes from a category that is easier for you to choose.  As you become more seasoned with you thoughts, you can work towards ones that are more difficult for you to choose.  Think of it as a game.  The better you get at it, the more joy you will have in your life.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Change, Decisions, Dreams/Goals, God, Hope, Inspirational, Joy, Motivational, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

