Lido Shuffle

lido shuffle

For today’s featured song, I have a fun one.  Lido Shuffle by Boz Skaggs is just a fun song.  It originates from the mid 70’s, which is a crazy time in itself.  There is some question as to what the song is about.  Later in this blog, I give you my interpretation of the lyrics.

Boz Skaggs is a very talented musician, who has been for the most part underrated.  This was his most popular song.  Many people have heard the familiar chorus in passing, but never really knew the song.  Well, today is your lucky day because we get to explore this gem from the 70’s.

I love doing karaoke and I had a buddy who loved to sing too.  Whenever we were together, we would sing this song.  Not an easy song to sing.  The chorus gets rather high for me, but we managed to muddle our way through the song.  I hope you enjoy the song as much as I have.

Studio version of the song.

Early video from 1977.

Live version of the song.

Live version of the song from 2012.

 

 

Lido Shuffle is a song by Boz Scaggs from the 1976 album Silk Degrees. The single reached #11 on the pop chart and #13 in the UK singles chart.[3] Members of the backup band heard in the song later formed the band Toto.

This was one of Boz Skaggs’ first big hits. It’s about a musician who’s hitting all the bars and clubs he can in an attempt to make it, as he is determined to become a star and leave his humble past behind. Some have wondered if this song is autobiographical.

Here’s my take on the meaning behind these mysterious lyrics.

Lido missed the boat that day he left the shack (Lido did time in Angola prison, which requires a ferry boat ride across the Mississppi.)

But that was all he missed and he ain’t comin’ back (Obviously he doesn’t want to return.)

A tombstone bar in a jukejoint car, he made a stop (He’s driving a stolen car and stopping at a highway bar in the middle of nowhere in order to rob it.)
Just long enough to grab a handle off the top (This is a reference to the old style cash registers which used large manual handles for opening/closing the til. He grabbed the handle, opened the til, and stole the cash, while probably pointing a gun at the bartender.)
Next stop Chi town, Lido put the money down and let it roll (He drove up to Chicago to gamble.)

(The next section and the Refrain indicate that Lido wants to get financially set before he gives up his life of crime, but he’s always gambling his loot away.)
He said one more job ought to get it
One last shot ‘fore we quit it
One more for the road

Refrain:
Lido, whoa-oh-oh-oh
He’s for the money, he’s for the show
Lido’s waitin’ for the go
Lido, whoa-oh-oh-oh
He said one more job ought to get it
One last shot ‘fore we quit it
One more for the road

(Lido gets a letter from his lady, saying to clean up his act or get out. So he plans one last big robbery.)

Lido be runnin’, havin’ great big fun, until he got the note
Sayin’ toe the line or blow, and that was all she wrote
He be makin’ like a beeline, headin’ for the borderline
Goin’ for broke.  (Lido finds a good place to rob, looks like an easy mark. We don’t get to see what happens, but I suspect he gets caught, because the song title is “Lido Shuffle”, suggesting a repetitive dance in and out of jail in this case.)
Lido Shuffle

by Boz Skaggs

Lido missed the boat that day he left the shack
But that was all he missed and he ain’t comin’ back
A tombstone bar in a jukejoint car, he made a stop
Just long enough to grab a handle off the top
Next stop Chi town, Lido put the money down and let it roll

He said one more job ought to get it
One last shot ‘fore we quit it
One more for the road

Refrain:
Lido, whoa-oh-oh-oh
He’s for the money, he’s for the show
Lido’s waitin’ for the go
Lido, whoa-oh-oh-oh
He said one more job ought to get it
One last shot ‘fore we quit it
One more for the road

Lido be runnin’, havin’ great big fun, until he got the note
Sayin’ toe the line or blow, and that was all she wrote
He be makin’ like a beeline, headin’ for the borderline
Goin’ for broke

Sayin’ one more hit ought to do it
This joint ain’t nothin to it
One more for the road

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

