Rethinking the Sacrifice (Part 1)

easter 1

If you are like most Americans, you start playing Christmas Carols like O Holy Night and Hark! The Herald Angels Sing at least a month before Christmas.  You spend hours wrapping gifts, hanging lights, and jaunting off to countless Christmas parties.  But in the weeks leading up to Easter, do you sit around listening to Up From the Grave He Arose or RSVPing to that rockin’ Easter party?  Not so much huh?

So why the lack of enthusiastic preparation for the holiday celebrating Christ’s resurrection?  Like Christmas, Easter play a pivotal role in showing God’s love in human form.  In fact, Easter is even more theologically significant than Christmas.  If Christ did not rise from the dead, His claim of eternal authority fails a crucial test.  For all Christians, Easter affirms who we are and what we believe.  Yet Easter often plays second fiddle, both culturally and spiritually, to its December bookend.  What gives?

I think the main reason is that because of the disconcerting nature of the holiday, Easter doesn’t boast as much commercial appeal as Christmas does.  Shoppers give Christmas a much weightier welcome by hitting the stores and malls even months before the actual day arrives.

In contrast to Christmas, Easter’s preparation is solemn and introspective.  There is the period of Lent, which is all about a time of sacrifice and personal discipline leading up to the time when we celebrate what’s new.  Christmas is filled with possibility and hope.  But with Easter, even though the resurrection is an affirmation of confidence in God’s caring for us, you still have to work through the grief of Good Friday.  The transition from the grief to the victory of the resurrection is so rapid that it can be difficult for people to embrace culturally.

That transition makes Easter much more challenging to celebrate.  When you think about it, Easter is really a two-part holiday.  You have Good Friday, followed two days later by Easter Sunday.  Good Friday can be rough, and it should be.  You then just have to hang in there for Easter Sunday.

It might require more from us mentally, emotionally, and spiritually, but Christians can celebrate Easter with the same gusto as the birth of Jesus.  Remember that without Easter, Good Friday and Christmas wouldn’t really matter that much.

Christmas, Good Friday, and Easter are all a part of the great story of how God showed His love for us by coming to the earth as a human so that He could die for each of our sins so that our relationship would be restored with Him and we could live for eternity with Him in heaven.  That is a pretty awesome thing if you ask me.  This Easter holiday, let’s celebrate it with the same gusto that we do for Christmas.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Attitude, Bible, Easter, Giving, God, Good Friday, Inspirational, Jesus, Love, Motivational, Opportunity, Prioritize, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Remembering, Salvation, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

