Getting Rid of the Frogs (Part 4)

frog 4

In Part 1 of this blog series we looked at Exodus 8 and how Pharaoh waited a day to have Moses ask God to get rid of the frogs.  Carrying unforgiveness around in your heart is like carrying a bunch of frogs around with you.  Forgiveness allows us to get rid of these frogs.  If you did not read Part 1 of this blog series, you can read it here.

In Part 2, I shared a bit about my personal story and my journey to learn what real forgiveness was.  If you did not read Part 2 of this blog series, you can read it here.

In Part 3, I discussed the ideas of admitting we need help, taking responsibility for our own happiness, stop putting it off, and turning your mess into your message.  If you did not read Part 3 of this blog series, you can read it here.

There have been two major turning points in my life so far.  The first is the day I finally stepped over the faith line.  It was the day I surrendered my life to God and started to have a real relationship with Him.  The second major turning point was when I finally learned how to truly forgive someone.  It is ironic that both of these events occurred within a 6 month time span.  I was not strong enough as a person to learn how to really forgive someone on my own.  I needed God’s help with that one.  Without stepping over the faith line, I would not have been able to forgive.  Before then, I thought I was forgiving, but I was only fooling myself.  The truth is that I was not forgiving; I was just suppressing the hurt and carrying it with me.

Stepping over the faith line is a personal journey that is unique to every person.  If you have not already done that, it is something that God will have to work through with you like He did me.

What I do want to address is the topic of forgiveness so that we can learn more about what forgiveness really is and what we need to do to learn to truly forgive someone.

When someone hurts us, we often react as though that individual has stolen from us.  We feel that they owe us, yet God wants us to let it go.

If we refuse to forgive, what hope do we have of receiving what we need?  To receive from God what He has promised in His Word, we must obey Him, regardless of how difficult it may be.  We must forgive.

The greatest deception that Satan has perpetuated in the area of forgiveness is the idea that if our feelings have not changed, we have not truly forgiven.  When you decide to forgive someone, don’t let the devil convince you that because you still have the same feelings, you have not really forgiven the person.

You can make the right decision to forgive and not “feel” any differently.  That’s when faith steps in.  You have done your part, now wait on God.  He will do His part and heal your emotions, make you whole, and change your feelings toward the person who hurt you.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Animals, Change, Communication, Decisions, Forgiveness, God, Hope, Inspirational, Leaving a Legacy, Life Stories, Love, Motivational, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Salvation, Serving, Sin, Stress Management, Thoughts/Mindset, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting Rid of the Frogs (Part 4)

  1. Judy Fleckenstein says:

    This series of blogs is probably the most powerful one you have written! It is difficult to be as openly introspective in one’s writing as you have done here in the “frogs”. Many times, people say they forgive, but it is just talk….they do not “walk the talk”. I can see that you have accomplished both. What a wonderful sense of peace and graditude you must have achieved and feel within you.

    • wmarsau says:

      I really appreciate you saying that Judy. It has been one of the hardest things I have wrote to date. It can be very difficult to be transparent and leave yourself open to the attack of others, but by doing so, it helps you find a peace that is so wonderful on the other side. I came to the realization that since it is not my life, but God’s, that I should share the story he has given me with others so that they can get benefit from it. If I don’t do that, then what was the point of going through all those things?

Leave a Reply

