Longing For Home (and Roots)

hudson 1

If home is where the heart is, why is it that we sometimes find ourselves still longing for that place where we can be rooted, a place where we can feel most at home, a place where we can be ourselves?

Throughout my life, I have called so many places my home.

I love where I grew up.  The small town of Hudson has always been so special to me.  I had the pleasure of growing up on two farms south of Waterloo and I just love those places.  Even to this day, I feel most at home back on the farm.  I love going home to see my parents.  I love to just relax on the farm.  It is what brings me back to center.  I love coming home, especially during Hudson Days and seeing all my old friends.  It is the closest thing I know to heaven on earth for me, but it is still not home.

I love being at Jack Trice Stadium in the fall at a home Iowa State football game.  Cheering for the Clones in my seats in the south end zone.  That stadium was my home for the 5 years that I played football on that sacred grass and even to this day it is a magical place for me.  I can feel the energy surge through my body and I feel a sense of being home, but it is still not home.

Over the past couple of years, I have spent quite a bit of time in the small town of Williams, where Stephanie grew up.  It is a small town, just like Hudson and I relate so well there.  I have met so many wonderful people there that I now call my friends.  It is like being in a parallel universe where I am in the small town I grew up in, but not quite. I especially love the 4th of July there, where I have spent my last 3 4th of Julys.  Going to Tyler and Nicks house and having a bonfire the night before.  The parade the next day.  Activities in the park and fireworks to end the glorious day.  Being around Steph’s family is so wonderful for me.  They are kind and accepting and always make me feel right at home in their home and their wonderful little town, but it is still not home.

Even in the place I currently reside, right in the heart of Ames can be comforting.  I have all my stuff there and a wonderful cat named Wrigley.  It is a place that I can be myself and just relax.  I have my garden to tend to in the backyard and my neighbors who have become like family.  Best of all, my wife lives there too.  I love spending a lazy day at home, but it is still not home.

Maybe it is because home isn’t about a place at all.

The first words that God spoke to Adam and Eve were, “You are free…” as we see in Genesis.

Genesis 2:16 (NIV)

16 And the Lord God commanded the man, “You are free to eat from any tree in the garden;

Then God placed them in a perfect home where they were in relationship with Him.  But the first people decided they wanted to do life on their own terms, and they turned away from God.

We actually do the same things ourselves.  The Bible call this “sin” and says that, “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God” (Romans 3:23).

The consequence of sin is separation from our Creator.  But God loves us, so He made a plan to save us from our sin.  The only way was to offer His Son, Jesus, as a sacrifice.

Romans 5:8 (NIV)

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

So what was the point of this?  The whole point was to bring us back into relationship with Him.

We can receive God’s gift of salvation by faith alone.  It says this clearly in the book of Ephesians.

Ephesians 2:8 (NIV)

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God

Faith is a decision, demonstrated by action.

Romans 10:9 (NIV)

If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

If you have never personally chose to accept this gift of salvation through a relationship with Jesus, it is not too late.  You can make that decision now and begin that relationship by praying this simple prayer.

Dear God, I need You.  I cannot live this life on my own.  I know I’m a sinner, but I want to be in relationship with You.  I believe Jesus died so that i could experience the forgiveness of all my sins.  I accept Your offer of new, abundant, eternal life.  Thank you.  From this day forward, I will choose to follow You.

Home is not a place found here on earth.  We will live our entire lives feeling not totally at home, because our home is actually in heaven with God.  As long as we are not there, we will never be truly home.  I am so thankful for all the wonderful people in my life and all the wonderful places I can go to feel comforted and be rested.  These places are my roots and they serve as my foundation and keep me grounded during my time on this earth.  I am even more thankful that Jesus is preparing a place for me in heaven, which is my real home.  I look forward to the day when I can go there and know I am home.  That will be a glorious day indeed!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, God, Hope, Inspirational, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Relaxation, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

