Jesus: The Greatest Gift Ever Given

Jesus 2

Luke 2:11-12 (NIV)

11 Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. 12 This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.

Before the world began, Jesus lived in heaven, a far more glorious place than you or I can ever imagine.  Yet, because you and I need a Savior, He left paradise and came to earth as a tiny baby, wrapped in cloth and laid in a feeding trough used for animals.

Just let that soak in for a moment.

If He had been born in the most fancy and noble place the world had to offer, it would not have been worthy of Him, but God chose to have His only Son born in the most meager place He could.  God did this so that we would know that Jesus came for each of us.  Jesus came to save the highest ranking official, the most popular and the richest person the world had to offer.  He also came to save those who were very low on the social ladder, the least popular and the poorest the world had to offer.

Jesus came to rescue you and I.

The way Jesus came and how He lived as a man on this earth reveals so much to us about the true character of God and His amazing love for all of us.  Christmas is the perfect time to celebrate the miracle of His love.

That night in Bethlehem, our infant Savior was humbly laid on a simple bed of straw.  As a boy, He played and studied in the modest household of a carpenter.  As a man, Jesus live His life as a perfect example, enduring every kind of earthly temptation, yet, without sinning and then humbled Himself to the point of death on a cross so you and I might have eternal life.

Philippians 2:8-9 (NIV)

 And being found in appearance as a man,

    he humbled himself
    by becoming obedient to death—
even death on a cross!

Therefore God exalted him to the highest place
    and gave him the name that is above every name,

As we see here in Philippians, Jesus humbled Himself to the extreme.  Despite everything the world threw at Him, no matter how mean people were, Jesus, despite having the power to crush anyone who opposed Him, chose to stay humble.

You and I now know Jesus not as a helpless infant or even a grown-up man, but as the King of Kings, the Lord of Lords, the Great I am.  His greatness goes beyond what any one of us can fully comprehend.  He is…

The Alpha and the Omega

     Revelation 1:8 (NIV)

      8 “I am the Alpha and the Omega,” says the Lord God, “who is,     and who was, and who is to come, the Almighty.”

The Way, the Truth and the Life

    John 14:6 (NIV)

     6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No     one  comes to the Father except through me.

The Good Shepherd

     John 10:11 (NIV)

     11 “I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd lays down his       life for the sheep.

Through a personal relationship with Christ, any of us can know Him intimately as any of these three.

As we are celebrating this Christmas season and begin to celebrate the miracle of His love.  As we gather with our families and open our presents, I encourage you to ponder the majesty of God and the goodness and power He brings to your life.  Having a close personal relationship with Jesus, that was made possible by Him coming to earth as a man, is truly the greatest gift of all.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in God, Hope, Inspirational, Joy, Life Stories, Love, Opportunity, Remembering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

