The Candles of Advent

advent

The season of Advent officially began a couple of weekends ago.  For some of you an Advent wreath is something that you grew up with and is pretty standard for this season.  Others of you are still new to this concept and it might seem a bit foreign to you.  I decided to dedicate a post to explaining what each candle means and why two of the candles are different colors.  I found this explanation on line and thought it gave a pretty good explanation of what the different candles are and what they stand for.

Advent is a time to prepare our minds for the real reason for Christmas, which was the coming of Jesus into our lives to save us from ourselves.  Let’s keep that the focus of this Christmas season.

Week One: The Candle of Hope (Purple)

The first week the first blue or purple candle is lit in a symbolic representation of hope. Christmas is the season of Christ’s arrival and fulfillment of the waiting for Messiah. The hope of Christians is in the Second Coming of Christ.

Week Two: The Candle of Peace (Purple)

The second week, the first candle is lit again and the second purple candle is lit in the representation of peace. Christmas is known as a season of peace. Jesus came to bring us spiritual peace and is known as the Prince of Peace.

Week Three: The Candle of Joy (Pink)

For the third lighting ceremony, the first two candles are lit and the pink candle is lit in the symbolism of joy. Christmas is as a time of joy for many. Christians are reminded of the joy they have in Jesus.

Week Four: The Candle of Love (Purple)

The fourth lighting ceremony, the three previous candles are lit and then the final candle on the wreath is lit. The fourth candle is lit in remembrance of love. The Christmas season is an expression of the love that God has for humanity. Jesus is the highest and greatest expression of the love God has for us. Christians are reminded to show that love to the world around us.

Christmas Eve: The Christ Candle (White)

On the final lighting, usually done on or near Christmas Eve or Christmas, all of the candles on the wreath are lit. The final large white candle in the center is lit. This candle represents Christ and His coming. This candle is larger than the rest because Christ is the savior of the world. The candle is white to represent the purity and sinless nature of Christ.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in God, Hope, Joy, Love, Remembering and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

