Get Fit For God (Part 2)

food 2

In Part 1 of this blog series, we talked about the idea of how we should honor God by honoring our bodies.  Each of us make up the body of Christ with our own individual bodies.  If you did not get a chance to read it, you can read Part 1 here.

From my own experience, a diet has held little interest with me.  Most people come to realize that diets can be enormously successful in the short-term, but over the course of a couple of years, they almost always fail.  For the most part, people tend to gain back all the weight they lose.

You often see this when celebrities succeed in losing weight, write a book about their break-through, and then, two or three years later, look just like their pre-diet selves.  Seems silly to even try to lose weight.

Most dieting books will ask, “What does my body need?”  This is an entirely appropriate question, but an even better questions would be, “What eating habits are healthiest for my soul?”

Food is an important topic or it would not be found so many times in the Bible.  Here are a couple of examples:

Proverbs 25:16 (NIV)

16 If you find honey, eat just enough—
    too much of it, and you will vomit.

Proverbs 25:27-28 (NIV)

27 It is not good to eat too much honey,
    nor is it honorable to search out matters that are too deep.

28 Like a city whose walls are broken through
    is a person who lacks self-control.

Austrian philosopher Ludwig Wittgenstein made a very astute observation when he said, “The human body is the best picture of the human soul.”

We need to develop a new relationship with food altogether.  We need to see food as more of an aspect of life and not the reason for life.  While food ultimately is fuel for our physical bodies, it is also something we accept as a pleasurable and good gift from God.  There is evidence of His care for us in that His provision of food goes beyond necessity to include aspects of His generosity and kindness.  We need to remember that our use of food is something that, due to our sinful nature, can imprison us, assault us, and take years off out lives.

As we continue in this series, I have two more challenging questions that I would like us to ponder.  The answers may not come to you easily.  It might be something you will need to spend some time with God in prayer and ask Him to answer them for you.

What is my relationship to food and exercise?

What eating habits are the healthiest for my soul?

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Change, Decisions, God, Health, Image, Inspirational, Motivational, Opportunity, Reinventing Yourself, Stress Management, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

