The Real Mega Superconference

big south

A few months ago, Oklahoma coach Bob Stoops stirred up a healthy debate when he took a few shots at the SEC.

“So they’ve had the best team in college football,” Stoops told the Tulsa World.  “They haven’t had the whole conference.  Because, again, half of ’em haven’t done much at all.  I’m just asking you.  You tell me.  So you’re listening to a lot of propaganda that gets fed out to you.  You’re more than smart enough to figure it out.  Again you can look at the top two, three, four, five, six teams, and you can look at the bottom six, seven, eight, whatever they are.  How well are they all doing?”

Let’s make one thing straight, I am not a huge fan of Bob Stoops.  I never have been.  I do, however, agree with Stoops that the gap isn’t as wide as people think between the SEC and other major conferences.  With that being said, the SEC has had the last seven national champions and I do believe that the proof is in who wins.  The SEC has shown that it has the ability to win the big games and bring the national championship home year after year. 

There is no doubt that they have proven they are deserving of that streak.  I also think it was kind of foolish for Stoops to be making these comments coming off a fresh 28-point beat down to an SEC team in the Cotton Bowl.  On the other hand, I do like the way Stoops stood up for the Big 12 and the other major conferences out there who are not doormat conferences as supporters of the SEC would have you believe.

There is a lot of talk about the strength of the football conferences and depending on who you root for will have a strong effect on which camp you fall into.

Let me start by telling you that I am a Cyclone fan so of course I am a fan of the Big 12.  I also really like the Big 10 Conference.  I have never been a huge fan of the SEC, but I sure do appreciate their brand of football.

With all this being said, I believe in 3 statements that I feel are true regarding the SEC compared to other major football conferences:

  • The SEC is the nation’s best overall conference on the football field.
  • The Big 12 has the strongest bottom half of any conference in football.
  • The SEC, when compared to the strength of the other conferences in football, is far overrated.

In this era of shuffling and talks of mega conferences on the way, I thought it would be fun to imagine a 24 team mega conference made up by combining the SEC and the Big 12 conferences.  If these two conferences were one conference, this is how I would predict they would finish the 2013 season.  Even though I am biased, I did my very best to be totally unbiased with this prediction.  Please let me know if you agree or disagree with how I ranked this 24 team mega conference.  Just for fun, I think a good name for this conference would be the Bigger South Conference (no disrespect to those schools in the Big South Conference).

2013 Bigger South Conference Standings

  1. Alabama
  2. Texas A&M
  3. Georgia
  4. South Carolina
  5. Oklahoma State
  6. LSU
  7. TCU
  8. Florida
  9. Texas
  10. Oklahoma
  11. Kansas State
  12. Ole Miss
  13. Baylor
  14. Mississippi State
  15. Texas Tech
  16. Vanderbilt
  17. Arkansas
  18. West Virginia
  19. Auburn
  20. Missouri
  21. Iowa State
  22. Tennessee
  23. Kentucky
  24. Kansas 
About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Iowa State Football and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

