Be a Blinding Light That Illuminates the World

light 1

Light is fascinating.  It illuminates.  It reveals.  It clarifies.

Often we don’t appreciate the value of light until we’re stuck in a dark place without knowing the way out.  You can appreciate this if you ever explored dark and scary places as a child.  But light is necessary for survival.  God intended it this way from the beginning.

The Holman Bible Dictionary defines the word light as “that which penetrates and dispels darkness.” 

Scripture teaches us a lot about light.  First, God created light (Genesis 1:3).  Second, God Himself is the essence of light (Psalm 104:2; John 8:12).  God’s Word is a “light” to our path (Psalm 119:105).  And ultimately, Jesus said His disciples are to be the :light of the world,” shining before others (Matthew 5:14-16).

For the apostle Paul, light played a key role in his life ministry.  In the book of Acts, we learn that Paul was forced  to the ground by an intense light.  While en route to imprison individuals who had accepted Jesus as the messiah, Paul was struck blind by a startling light.  In the midst of his traumatic experience, he heard the voice of Jesus and was converted and baptized.  He then gained sight, both physically and spiritually.  Paul’s transformational experience with the “light of the world” helped him finally understand his role as a disciple called to shine his light before men.

Paul’s experience sparked the beginning of what would become a lifelong passion-taking the message of the gospel into places of spiritual darkness.  He took three missionary journeys, spreading the gospel to individuals and establishing churches along the way.

Paul’s three letters to Timothy and Titus (known as the Pastoral Letters) were written while Paul was imprisoned near the end of his life.  The letters mentored his younger associates who were carrying on the ministry of the gospel to their local churches.These letters share similar characteristics, specifically in that they were very personal in nature.

Paul had met Timothy and Titus during his missionary journeys.  Likely, both of these men converted under Paul’s teachings, which could’ve led to the closeness in their connection.  In 1 Corinthians 4:17, Paul referred to Timothy as a “dearly loved and faithful son in the Lord.”  Paul also referred to Titus as “my true son in our common faith” in Titus 1:4. 

Within these bonds of faith in Christ, Paul used his “light” experience to invest in the lives of Timothy and Titus.  He offered support and encouragement for their task of sharing the light with others.  Paul knew their struggles.  Instead of judging and rebuking them, he helped steer them in such a way that they could be successful in leading others to know the illuminating message of the gospel.

In your own journey, have you had a spiritually blinding experience?  Has someone along the way invested in you to help you know and understand Jesus?  Are there people that you are invest in and being the “light of the world” to?  These questions become the framework for our lives as disciples of Jesus.  If you’re having trouble answering any of these questions, then maybe this is your “startling light” experience.

Like Paul, be challenged with the passion of spreading the gospel to the spiritually dark places within your own reach.  Be a blinding light that brings illumination to this sometimes dark world.  You have it within yourself to be a difference in this world, so make the choice to do it.  Find others to invest in.  Make sure that other like-minded Christ-followers are investing in you as well.  Above all, “let your light shine before men, so that they may see you good works and give glory to your Father in heaven” (Matthew 5:16).

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, God, Influence, Inspirational, Leaving a Legacy, Mentoring, Motivational, Opportunity, Purpose, Reinventing Yourself, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be a Blinding Light That Illuminates the World

  1. I initially got to your blog about little brother growing up and that was a great article. Then I read this one on being a blinding light which was also great. Then I read ‘about wmarsau’ and I was hooked. I have started following your blog, keep up the good work. Although I am now retired (’79 BSME) and traveling the country your blog is good for those working and those retired.

    • wmarsau says:

      Thanks so much for your kind comments. I am so glad you are following the blog. I write for people like you. We are all in this thing called life together and we have to help each other out as much as we can along the way.

Leave a Reply

