Playing the Concentration Game

focus

Do any of you ever find that it can be hard to concentrate?

I know that I do.  There are times that I can get really focused on something and I just go.  Everything around me seems to just fade into the background and all I hear, see, and think about is what I am working on.  I can get so much accomplished during these times.  The problem is that for every time I have extreme focus and production like this, I have 10 other times where I find that I have a hard time trying to concentrate on what I am doing.  My focus is lacking.  Everything around me seems to capture my attention except the thing I am trying to work on.  During these times I seem to get very little done and the work I do mange to get done seems to be lacking.

In a world full of distractions, the person who can focus their attention is the one who stands out in the crowd.

So, how can we develop our ability to focus?

The answer is simple: A little at a time.

I have found that the best way to develop your ability to focus is to play the concentration game.  The game is not complicated at all.  You simply decide on a set amount of time to work on your primary task.  During that time, you are only allowed to work on that task.  At the end of that set time, you take a break and go do something else.  You can come back to your primary task after your break and do another set time segment of primary work.

By giving your mind and body a rest from your primary task, you will keep your mind and body fresh and it will be able to work much better in short segments.  You can accomplish more in three 30 minute segments of focused work than you can in 3 hours of unfocused work.

Let me give you some examples.

Let’s say you have a room in your house that you need to clean.  Set a timer for 15 minutes and get as much done in 15 minutes as you possibly can.  At the end of those 15 minutes, simply stop and do something else.  You will be amazed at what you can accomplish in only 15 minutes of focused attention.

Let’s say you have a bunch of studying that you need to do.  You can study in hourly segments by studying for 50 minutes and then taking a 10 minute break before returning to another 50 minutes of uninterrupted study.  During that 10 minute break you can do whatever you want.  You can check email, get a snack, or go take a short walk.

This was a method that I utilized while in vet school.  The amount of material we covered and had to learn was enormous so by using this technique, I was able to accomplish more through doing less by using the concentration game.

If you can’t do a full 50 minutes of uninterrupted study at a time, then start with shorter segments.  As you exercise your ability to focus, it will grow and allow you to engage for longer periods of time.

The benefits of concentrated focus are great!  You will accomplish more, learn more, and be better equipped to serve if you can pay attention when needed. 

Try it out and see!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Motivational, Opportunity, Performance, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

