Challenges to Pursue (Part 12)

challenges 11

In this blog I am going through 15 challenges that the late Jim Rohn dared us to pursue in our own lives.

Today we will be talking about the tenth challenge that Jim Rohn gave us.

Live with Intensity

You might as well turn it up a notch or two.  Invest more of you in whatever you do.  Be a little stronger; be a little wiser.  Step up your vitality contribution.  Put everything you’ve got into everything you do and then ask for more vitality, more strength and more vigor, more heart and more soul.

Intensity is what can turn an ordinary athlete into an excellent one.  Intensity turns a mediocre musician into a memorable one.  Intensity turns an ordinary life into an extraordinary one. 

I was able to make it all the way to the level of the NFL in football.  Let me tell you that there is no way I would have gotten there on talent alone.  It took a great amount of work and always playing with intensity that allowed me to go so far.  Intensity was built into our conscience as a football player.  No matter how good you thought you did on a play, there was always a way to do it better.  If you gave 98% effort, there was a way to give 99% on the next play.

Of all the lessons I learned from football, I think the greatest of all was how to attack life with the same intensity that I learned to in football.  Life is full of people who are just trying to get by.  They will do just enough not to fail.  Just enough to blend in with the crowd of other people with mediocre expectations of themself.  While this may keep them from failing, they will never experience the pure joy that comes when you give something your all and succeed. 

God has given us just one life to live.  This life is very short in the grand scheme of things.  God intended for us to life a life full of victory and successes, but we have to do our part.  We have to be willing to give this life everything we have.

We need to be willing to push ourselves so we can break out of shell of our own expectations and the expectations of others and soar to new limits in our lives.  We need to elevate our games to a whole new level.  Every day we are given a fresh start.  Everyday we are given a choice.  We can choose to stay confined in our own expectations of ourselves and live the day giving mediocre intensity and achieving mediocre results.  We could also choose to give life an unmatched intensity.  To tackle whatever task we have that day with everything we have.  We are capable of loving more than we thought we could.  Feeling more than we thought we had in us.  Serving more than we thought possible.  Lifting people up more than we could have ever imagined.

When we choose to up our intensity levels, we will experience life as it was meant to be experienced.  Life as God intended for us.  When roadblocks come into our lives, and they will, we will run right over them and use them as platforms to reach even higher heights.

If you can do that, when your life on this earth comes to an end, you will feel used up knowing you gave your life all you had.  You will have no regrets.  That is how I want to go out.  That is about the best way I could imagine any of us going out.

I would like to challenge each of us to set out on a journey to live our lives with an even higher intensity than we have given before.  The beginning of our new and even better life starts today.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Change, Decisions, God, Image, Influence, Leaving a Legacy, Love, Motivational, Opportunity, Performance, Purpose, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Thoughts/Mindset, Vision and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

