Challenges to Pursue (Part 9)

challenges 8

In this blog series I am going through 15 Challenges that the late Jim Rohn dared us to pursue in our own lives.

Today we will be talking about the eighth challenge that Jim Rohn gave us.

Conserve Your Time

Sometimes we get faked out.  Bill Bailey says the average person says, “I’ve got twenty more years.”  No, Bill says you’ve got twenty more times.  If you go fishing once a year, you’ve only got twenty more times to go fishing, not twenty years.  That fakes you out.

I really like the point Jim Rohn makes here about being faked out about the amount of time that we really do have.  If we have something that we love to do, but only do it once a year, it does not mean we have twenty more years of doing it.  It means that we have only 20 more times of doing it.  If we look at it from that perspective, it should make us appreciate the activity more when we do get to do it.

Everyday that we get a day of life, we have a new opportunity to live that day to the fullest.  To appreciate all of the moments we are given.  To do things the right way.  Every time we have the opportunity to do the right thing, but choose not to do it, that opportunity is gone forever.  We will never get it back.  We only have so many opportunities that we are given so we should make the very most of each and every one we are given.

Time really does move so quickly.  We will wake up one day and find that we have come to the end of our life here on earth.  When that time comes are you going to be a person who has regrets?  Will you wish you had done more with your life?  Will you wish you had been kinder and done more things to serve others?  That is no way to go out.  At the end of my life, I want to look back on my life and say that even though I made mistakes and didn’t always make the right decisions, I lived my life the very best that I knew how.  I gave it everything I got and leave this world at peace knowing what a great ride it had been.  Leaving life with no regrets is about the best that anyone could ever hope for in this life.

As you go through your days, try not to spend your life wasting time.  Instead choose to conserve it whenever you can.  Do things that will make a difference in this world.  Leave this world a better place than when you got here.  That is a life well lived.

I would like to challenge you to live each day to the fullest.  Don’t let time just slip away.  Enjoy every moment of it.  Each day we are given is a gift and we should treat it that way.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, Leaving a Legacy, Motivational, Opportunity, Relationships, Serving and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Challenges to Pursue (Part 9)

  1. I like this point Jim Rohn makes too.
    It really drives home the need to focus on what truly matters the most to you, with regards to how you spend your time, energy, love and attention. Focus on the best, and forget the rest.

    It also has truth with how you spend time on tasks you cannot avoid.
    Do not be negative in line at the grocery store, instead embrace the time you have with yourself and your thoughts.

    Plan where you are going next.

    Carry a small notebook and quickly jot down some musings on random things you see or hear around you. Do not waste the seconds and minutes that exist alongside the hours of your daily tasks.

    • wmarsau says:

      You have some great comments here. We all need to make a point of improving ourselves as people daily or else we will find that we fall backwards a little each day until we get to a place and wonder how in the world we ever got there.

Leave a Reply

