A Different Kind of Work: A Different Kind of Love (Part 3)

love work 2

If you missed the Part 1 of this blog series, you can check it out here.  In Part 1 we talked about a different kind of company. 

If you missed Part 2 of this blog series, you can read it here.  In part 2 we talked about agape love and what that means.

Just so you can keep up with were we are in this series, here is the outline of the 4 parts of this blog series:

Part 1: A Different Kind of Company

Part 2: Agape Love

Part 3: The Handbook of Love: A Playbook for Life

Part 4: Putting Love into Play at Work

In today’s blog we will be talking about having a handbook for love.  This handbook will serve as a playbook for us as we live our lives.  This playbook will tell us exactly what we need to do to show agape love everyday.

Basing the leadership behavior of an organization on the definition of agape love may strike you as a new or revolutionary idea.  If you base your point of view on the context of modern American organization practices, it is a new and revolutionary idea.  The inspiration for using agape love as a leadership principle actually comes from one of the oldest and most respected authorities on human behavior in the world: the Bible.

Chapter 13 of 1 Corinthians is known as the “love chapter” because of the strong words that Paul wrote about what love is and what it entails.  In fact, almost any wedding you attend will often quote this chapter.  Even though the chapter is pretty short, it is packed with lots of powerful insight on the topic of love and more specifically, what agape love is.  This chapter serves us well as a playbook for the type of love that we should not only show our spouse, but all the people we deal with everyday.  That includes the people at work.

1 Corinthians 13 (NIV)

13 If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, 10 but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. 11 When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. 12 For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

13 And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love.

This is agape love.  These are the principles that will transform your organization, from the bottom line to the of your employees’ hearts.  Love is patient, kind, trusting, unselfish, truthful, forgiving, and dedicated.  How these words get worked out in the context of a successful organization may surprise you.  If you take the time to study it, you will find that these loving principles work quite well into any work environment.  You can have a strong loving environment in the workplace and that does not mean that the employees will perform poorly or that the bottom line will suffer.  In fact, you may find that the exact opposite could result.

D.L. Moody, a minister and evangelist, had the following to say about this idea.  “Joy is love exalted; peace is love in repose; long-suffering is love enduring; gentleness is love in society; goodness is love in action; faith is love on the battlefield; meekness is love in school; and temperance is love in training.”  I think that is so beautiful and at the same time insightful.

So from one of the oldest books ever written, we get our playbook for the game of life.  We need to memorize it and carry it around with us everywhere we go.  When we follow the characteristics in this playbook, we are demonstrating agape love and our lives and the lives of those we interact with will be different because of it.

Playbook for Love and Life

patience

kindness

trusting

unselfish

truthful

forgiving

dedicated

As we end today’s blog, I would like to leave you with another question to ponder.

Which characteristics of the above love playbook do you need to work on in your life?

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, God, Image, Influence, Leadership, Leaving a Legacy, Love, Mentoring, Motivational, Opportunity, Performance, Purpose, Reinventing Yourself, Relationships, Serving, Thoughts/Mindset and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

