Collide

For today’s Friday featured song, I wanted to feature a song that won’t make any Top 100 lists and wouldn’t be considered a groundbreaking song that changed the face of music, but it is really great song and I really enjoy it.  The song is Collide and it is performed by Howie Day. 

It has a nice melody and I love the lyrics.  This song can have a few different meaning depending on how you interpret it.  How I interpret the lyrics is That a couple gets in an argument.  It could be that one person was open to love and the other person was not.  The couple breaks up and goes on their separate ways.  Over time, they find that they keep running into each other.  They kept colliding into each other.  They realize that maybe fate had to do with the fact that they couldn’t get away from each other and they realize that maybe they were meant to be together.  If it is meant to be, it will be.  In the end they do end up together.

It is a story that runs through the whole range of emotions that you can experience in a relationship.  If you have ever been through any of these emotions, the lines will really resonate with you.  It is a great song and I hope you enjoy it!

 

 Music video of the song.

Acoustic version of the song.  I like this version best.

Another acoustic version performed live at a Denver radio station.

How to play the song on guitar.

“Collide” is the second single from singer/songwriter Howie Day‘s second full-length album, Stop All the World Now, released in July 2004.  The song, written by Howie Day and Kevin Griffin, follows in the vein of works from other pop balladeers like Dave Matthews, John Mayer and Duncan Sheik.  The London Session Orchestra provided backing instrumentation on the initial album version of the song.

Like much of Day’s work, the song’s lyrics are rooted in a relationship, with notes of the occasional adversity the two people involved may face.  The music video was filmed in Toronto, Canada.

The popularity of “Collide” built slowly on U.S. radio, at first gaining the greatest success on Billboards Adult Top 40 chart.  Chart performance benefitted significantly from a reissue of Stop All the World Now in a special edition that included four bonus tracks, one being an acoustic version of the song that reached #20 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

“Collide” has since been used in promotion of various television series, including What About Brian, Friday Night Lights and General Hospital, as well as the 2005 film adaptation of Pride & Prejudice and the 2005 film The Perfect Man.  This song has also been featured during episodes of Ghost Whisperer, Scrubs, ER, Bones, Third Watch, Cold Case, One Tree Hill, Smallville, Lost, Grey’s Anatomy, Summerland and Joan of Arcadia.  On General Hospital this was the song to which popular pairing Patrick and Robin, known as “Scrubs”, first made on Memorial Day in 2006. This song was on Season 7 of So You Think You Can Dance featuring Kent Boyd and Lauren Froderman.  It was a “Lent” (Lauren Froderman and Kent Boyd) favorite.

Collide

by Howie Day

The dawn is breaking
A light shining through
You’re barely waking
And I’m tangled up in you
Yeah

I’m open, you’re closed
Where I follow, you’ll go
I worry I won’t see your face
Light up again

Even the best fall down sometimes
Even the wrong words seem to rhyme
Out of the doubt that fills my mind
I somehow find
You and I collide

I’m quiet you know
You make a first impression
I’ve found I’m scared to know I’m always on your mind

Even the best fall down sometimes
Even the stars refuse to shine
Out of the back you fall in time
I somehow find
You and I collide

Don’t stop here
I lost my place
I’m close behind

Even the best fall down sometimes
Even the wrong words seem to rhyme
Out of the doubt that fills your mind
You finally find
You and I collide

You finally find
You and I collide
You finally find
You and I collide

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

