You Better You Bet

Today’s featured song is the last real hit of one of the better rock groups who ever performed.  The song is You Better You Bet by the Who.  The song was released in 1981, which means I was only 4 years old at the time.  I really fell in love with this song during the time I was in vet school in the early 2000’s.  It’s got a hard-driving rhythm and plenty of sexuality.  It really has all the elements you love in a classic rock song.

I never get tired of hearing this song.  It was written and performed after their drummer, Keith Moon, died, which is too bad because I think he would have really loved the song.  It is said that great rock groups can’t last forever, but their music, if it is good enough, will.  I think this is one of those songs that will still be played generations from now.  I hope you enjoy!

Album version of the song.

Artistic promo of the song done in 1981.

Official video of the song.

Video exclusive of the song.

Live version of the song from 1981.

Live version of the song from 1989.

Live version of the song from 2000.

Live version of the song from 2006.

Live version of the song from 2007.

You Better You Betis a song written by Pete Townshend of The Who for their 1981 album, Face Dances.  It appears as the first track on the album.

“You Better You Bet” was the last single by The Who that reached the Top 20 on the Billboard Hot 100, reaching number 18 on 21 March 1981.  The track peaked at number 1 on the Billboard Top Tracks chart in the first half of 1981.  It was also their last single to hit the Top Ten in the UK, peaking at number 9.  It is sung by front man Roger Daltrey but contains backing vocals from Townshend and bassist John Entwistle.  Townshend’s guitar part is played on a Rickenbacker 360/12.

The song makes references to both the group T. Rex, and the group’s own 1971 album Who’s Next, with the line: “I drunk myself blind to the sound of old T. Rex… and Who’s Next

A music video for the song was produced in black and white featuring the band and keyboardist John Bundrick playing onstage. It was the fourth video played upon MTV‘s launch on 1 August 1981.  The video was also the 55th video to be aired on MTV, making it the first video to be shown on MTV more than once.

You Better You Bet

by Pete Townsend

You Better You Bet ohYou better you better you bet. oh
You better you better you bet. oh w
You better you better you bet.
You better you better you bet.

I call you on the telephone
My voice too rough with cigarettes.
I sometimes feel I should just go home
but I’m dealing with a memory that never forgets

I love to hear you say my name
especially when you say yes
I got your body right now on my mind
but I drunk myself blind to the sound of old T-Rex, Mmmmm
To the sound of old T-Rex
oh, and Who’s Next

When I say I love you you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I need you you say you better
You better you better you bet
You better bet your life
Or love will cut you, cut you like a knife

I want those feeble minded axes overthrown
I’m not into your passport picture, I just like your nose
You welcome me with open arms and open legs
I know only fools have needs, but this one never begs

I don’t really mind how much you love me
Ooh, a little is alright
When you say
come over and spend the night
Tonight
Tonight

When I say I love you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I need you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
You better bet your life
Or love will cut you,cut you like a knife

I lay on the bed with you
We could make some book of records
Your dog keeps licking my nose
And chewing up all those letters
Saying “you better”

You better bet your life

You better love me, all the time now
You better shove me back into line now
You better love me, all the time now
You better shove me back into line now.

(Guitar Solo)

I showed up late one night
with a neon light for a visa
But knowing I’m so eager to fight
can’t make letting me in any easier

I know I been wearing crazy clothes
and I look pretty crappy sometimes
But my body feels so good
and I still sing a razor line every time.

And when it comes to all night living
I know what I’m giving
I’ve got it all down to a tee
And it’s free.

When I say I love you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I need you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I love you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I need you, you scream you better,Ooooo!
You better you better you bet
When I say I love you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I need you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I love you, you say you better
You better you better you bet
When I say I need you, you scream you better
You better you better you bet

You better bet your life
Or love will cut you, just like a knife

You better bet your life
Or love will cut you, just like a knife

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

