3 Ways to Multiply Your Time and Avoid Getting Stressed Out

If you really stop and think about it, most anyone you ask would tell you that they are really busy.  Everyone has the same 24 hours each day, but it is amazing how good people are at filling up all that time to the point that it may seem like your head is going to explode.

Busy lives increase our stress level and that is just not healthy for us.  Stress can cause our health to suffer.  Stress can lead to us saying things we shouldn’t to people we love.  Stress isn’t always a bad thing, but it is if we let stress rule how we live our lives.

I know that I keep very busy.  I have work, coaching, bible studies, family obligations, and the list goes on and on.  The reality is that the journey is the best part of our lives, but too many of us miss it because we get too wrapped up in all the “things” we have to do each day.

With that in mind, I would like to talk about 3 practical ways that we can multiply our time which can lead to less stress.

My priorities come first.

We need to view our time in the same way we view tithing.  I made the decision several years ago that I was going to start tithing because I thought it was important to do.  I give away 10% of my income to the various churches I attend and helping groups.  This 10% comes out whenever I get a paycheck so I never have the opportunity to spend it on something else.  I’ve already made the decision to tithe so I don’t need to reconsider it every time I get paid.

We need to make our time work the exact same way.  You need to decide what things are the priority in your life and put them first.  If time with God, going to church, date night with your spouse, or spending time with your kids is more important than your job, then you need to schedule your days that way.  Put these things on the calendar first.  That way you won’t need to reconsider your time every time a business opportunity comes along.  If you want to keep to the 10% rule, that means there are 2.4 hours each day you should be spending time on your top priorities.  That is 16.8 hours a week and 873.6 hours a year.

Teamwork multiplies your time.

If you are a boss, you need to find people who are more talented than you to handle various aspects of your business.  If there are chores that need to be done at home, you should divide them up among family members.

Yes, you will still have to do many tasks.  And yes, you will still need to delegate tasks.  Your ultimate goal, though, should be to empower other people on your team to take everything you do and offer to the next level.  Make it better than it is today.  If you stop and think about it, a team really does outperform the individual every time.

Have good systems in place.

Good systems free up more time to focus on what you enjoy the most.  The things that are most important to you.  Many people view systems as barriers.

Healthy systems, though, create flow patterns for the routine to maximize the time for the good of the mission.  Systems take discipline, but they also provide a framework for you to engage the other people on your team or other members of your family.  Without systems, every decision and every task would end up having to go through you to be approved.  With healthy systems, your team is empowered.

I encourage each of you to consider adopting one or all of these three ideas into your daily lives.  See if they make a difference for you.  See if it makes a difference for the people in your lives that you care the most about.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, Prioritize, Reinventing Yourself, Stress Management, Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3 Ways to Multiply Your Time and Avoid Getting Stressed Out

  1. Jill E Ford says:

    Very nice Bill. Just the right length for a bloog.

Leave a Reply

