The Luckiest

Today’s featured song is one of my favorite songs of all time.  It is definitely in my Top 10.  It is the song The Luckiest by Ben Folds.  You are probably like, “What?”  I know, it is not a well-known or mainstream song, but the melody on the piano is absolutely beautiful.  Couple it with the lyrics just as only Ben Folds could do, you have a really amazing song.

In my opinion, it is the greatest love song EVER written.  Ben Folds is sometimes played off as being a little cheesy, but he is a musical genious.  This song explains how strong a love can be from 3 different points of view.  The most powerful by far is the elderly couple in verse 3.  When one dies the second is soon to follow because living without that person is not really living.

I remember when I first heard this song.  I was driving in Western Iowa for my former job and this song came on a Ben Folds CD I had purchased.  It just absolutely blew me away.  What is really unique about this song is how each set of verses seems at fist listen to stop short of what it should.  When you go back and look at it though, it is perfect for what Ben is trying to do.  My project for this coming year is to learn how to plan this on piano.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do. 

Album version of the song.

Live performance with the Western Australia Symphony Orchestra

How to play the Intro (Part 1) on Piano.

How to play the Verses (Part 2) on Piano.

Cover version of the song.  Great voice.  I love how she interprets it.

Cover version played on the guitar.

A Cappella performance of the song overseen by Ben himself.

Cover version played on the keyboard.

Rockin’ the Suburbs is an alternative rock 2001 album by singer/songwriter Ben Folds.  His first solo album after leaving his band Ben Folds Five (while still a part of Ben Folds Five, he released an experimental album called Fear of Pop: Volume 1), Rockin’ the Suburbs is also Folds’ most popular LP to date, and includes the well-known title track.  It was released on the same day as the September 11 attacks.

“Rockin’ the Suburbs” is Folds’ only single thus far to make Billboard‘s Modern Rock Tracks chart, peaking there at #28.  The album peaked at #42 on the Billboard 200 chart, and at #11 on the Top Internet Albums chart.  A remake of the title track featuring William Shatner appeared in the soundtrack for the 2006 film Over the Hedge, which stars Shatner as a possum named Ozzie.

Despite multiple uses of profanity, the Parental Advisory sticker was never added.

According to Folds, “Not the Same” is based on a true story of a person he knew who, under the influence of LSD, climbed a tree at a party, stayed in the tree overnight, and when he came down the next morning was a born-again Christian.

The track “Zak and Sara” has been used in Asian Kung-Fu Generation‘s Nano-Mugen Compilation 2009.

Folds performed “Not the Same” with the Dartmouth Aires on the finale of Season 3 of The Sing-Off.

The Luckiest

by Ben Folds

I don’t get many things right the first time,
in fact, I am told that a lot
Now I know all the wrong turns the stumbles,
and falls brought me here
And where was I before the day
that I first saw your lovely face,
now I see it every day
And I know

[Chorus]
That I am, I am, I am, the luckiest

What if I had been born fifty years before you
in a house on the street
where you lived
Maybe I’d be outside as you passed on your bike. Would I know?
And in a wide sea of eyes
I see one pair that I recognize

And I know

[Chorus]

I love you more then have
ever found the way to say
to you

Next door there’s an old man who lived to his nineties and one day
passed away in his sleep,
and his wife, she stayed for a couple of days, and passed away

I’m sorry I know that’s a strange way to tell you that I know we belong,

That I know

[Chorus]

 

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

