When the Children Cry

Have you ever watched a news report and seen children somewhere in the world who are suffering?  Maybe you know of some children who have suffered.  Maybe you know a child who has died, never having had a chance to live a full life.  It seems so senseless doesn’t it?  It can be so easy to question God and wonder why in the world a loving God would ever allow a child to suffer.  Let’s look into this a little more and see if we can come up with any answers.  Why does God allow innocent children to suffer?

Let’s go to the bible and see what it has to say.

11 My eyes fail from weeping,
    I am in torment within ;
my heart is poured out on the ground
    because my people are destroyed,
because children and infants faint
    in the streets of the city.

12 They say to their mothers,
    “Where is bread and wine?”
as they faint like the wounded
    in the streets of the city,
as their lives ebb away
    in their mothers’ arms.

Lamentations 2:11-12

In this passage, Jeremiah’s words are laced with emotion.  Stewing just beneath his grief was an anguished question: How could God have permitted these children to suffer?

All people, including children, are born into sin.  How do we know?  It says so in the bible.

12 Therefore, just as sin entered the world through one man, and death through sin, and in this way death came to all people, because all sinned

                                                                      Romans 5:12

The sin of Adam and Eve infected each succeeding generation, leading to the suffering and consequences that sin produces.  While these children had not participated in the specific sins that incited God’s wrath, they were not themselves sinless.

Unfortunately, children often suffer for their parents’ actions-whether they are crack babies, adult children of alcoholics or teens of emotionally absent parents.  In the same way, children, as members of a community, share in the benefits or consequences of that community’s actions, even though they had nothing to do with the decision.  In many countries, children are the victims of the older generation’s war and terrorism.

Some people insist that no one but God can be ultimately responsible for such suffering, and perhaps these are the feelings behind Jeremiah’s honest, but bitter complaints that we see here:

19 Arise, cry out in the night,
    as the watches of the night begin;
pour out your heart like water
    in the presence of the Lord.
Lift up your hands to him
    for the lives of your children,
who faint from hunger
    at every street corner.

20 “Look, Lord, and consider:
    Whom have you ever treated like this?
Should women eat their offspring,
    the children they have cared for?
Should priest and prophet be killed
    in the sanctuary of the Lord?

Lamentations 2:19-20

Yet, we must understand that God never wanted any of us to suffer.  Death is the natural result of sin.  The bible clearly says this here:

23 For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.

                                                                                        Romans 6:23

Judah could only blame itself in this instance.

I know that many of you say that it is not fair for a child who has done nothing wrong or has no concept of what they are doing is wrong to have to suffer.  I would agree with that completely.  On the other hand, do you think it was fair for the only man (Jesus)who ever walked this earth and never committed a sin, to have to be beaten and tortured and endure the most horrible death known to man so that our sins could be forgiven and we would not have to die for our sins?  That most certainly was not fair either.

I am not trying to say that the suffering of children is ok.  It’s not.  What I can tell you is this.  I believe in God and I believe that He knows what is best for every person who has ever been or ever will be born on this earth.  I believe that He loves each of us with a love that can’t be fathomed with our simple human minds.  Keeping these two things in mind, I am convinced that He knows what is the best for each person.  If that includes suffering, so be it.  A little suffering on earth does not even compare with how amazing an eternity in heaven will be.

I am very certain that I do not have a great answer for why children are allowed to suffer, but I do know someone who does.  God.  We should find reassurance in that and let that ease our mind.  Why?  Because in all of recorded history, God has never gotten it wrong.  Not even once.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

