10 Commandments of Social Media

The days of mailing a letter to someone and waiting days, sometimes weeks are almost completely gone now.  Now we can send a message and instantly it goes to all our friends and they can respond within seconds.  While the technology and efficiently have improved greatly, there are still unspoken rules of interpersonal relationships and etiquette that still apply online.  Here is a list of 10 things that you should not do when using social media.  Consider it the Ten Commandments of Social Media.

Thou shall not tweet before you think.

Before you hit the “tweet” or “post” button, you should use the five-second rule.  Wait five seconds and ask, Is this something I want to be associated with? If the answer is “yes,” post away.  If the answer is “no,” then you probably shouldn’t.

Thou shall not spoil the results of a reality show.

I realize that this is a very easy one to break.  You may have seen a surprising ending on one of your favorite reality shows and want to share it with your friends.  Try your best to save the suspense for your DVR-ing social media brothers and sisters.  If you feel you have to post something, then write “spoiler alert” prior to your post.

Thou shall not stalk.

You know when you are guilty of this.  And let’s be honest: it’s creepy.

Thou shall not tweet in vain.

No one likes to hear a person only talk about themselves.  Tweeting about others will benefit you a lot more than tweeting about yourself.  You will also get a lot more response too.

Thou shall not steal a status as your own.

If someone shares a clever status, you should give that person credit.  Don’t reap the comments or retweets that another person has sown.

Thou shall not LOL, ROTFL, or OMG too often.

Using lol every now and then is certainly not a sin.  Used properly they can have great effect.  If you use them too often, they quickly lose their luster.  When your status reads “AWSM! G2G, ttyl, cya! LYLAS!”…you’ve gone too far.

Thou shall not ‘check-in’ thy home.

Why is that a problem you might ask?  You do this so you can protect yourself from people who break the third commandment.

Thou shall not post anything that would embarrass you or your family.

Not only is it very possible that your family is on Facebook, but the majority of your future employers are on there too.  Many employers check social media sites when they are hiring new potential employees.  Once it is posted, it never goes away.  You don’t want to post something you will regret 5 years from now.

Thou shall not spam thy neighbor.

There isn’t a much more embarrassing faux pas than sending spam to your entire friend base.  If it looks like spam, don’t click on it.

Thou shall not be negative or pessimistic.

Don’t fill your friends’ news feeds with how awful things are going.  in other words, “leave out the drama.”

Hopefully these commandments will help guide you as you are using social media.  If you can think of any commandments that I did not think of, please share them with me.  Happy posting!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Communication, Image, Social Media and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

