Pitfalls of Leadership

Sometimes it seems like those in leadership positions can easily be taken down.  If you ever played king of the hill when you were a kid you know that when you are at the top, there will always be people trying to take you down.

Often, the causes for being taken down are not huge mishaps.  Instead, they are usually small yet vital details that can easily be overlooked.

In today’s blog, I would like to share with you 3 pitfalls, though not major things you might think of as pitfalls, that can bring you down as a leader.

Thought life

When I say thought life, I am referring to what you spend your time thinking about.  The conversations going on inside your head is arguably more important than what takes place between yourself and those you lead.  If your thought life is negative, what comes out of your mouth will likely be negative.  If your thought life is centered around what will benefit you the leader most, this will quickly become evident to those you lead.

What you think about you and others truly does come out to others around you.  Watch your thought life and don’t let it take you out.  Instead, let it help you rise to the challenges that life presents to you and use it to help you lead strong.

Energy levels

Everyone talks about managing your time, but time is fixed and limited.  There are only 24 hours in each day and there is nothing you can do to change that.  Managing time is important, but I think that managing your energy is even more important.  Your of energy impacts everything you do as a leader.  The lower your energy levels are, the lower your influence and impact will be.

If you can find ways to raise your energy levels, you can multiply your influence and impact.  You can manage your energy levels by watching your diet, exercise, alcohol intake levels, sleeping patterns, and by taking proper amounts of time off from work.

Self-awareness

Do you have an accurate view of yourself?  Are you aware of your strengths, weaknesses, personality type, and emotional intelligence levels?  Do others around you have permission to give you feedback?

If the answer to any of these questions is “I’m not sure” or “no,” you may not be very self-aware.  The result of not being very self-aware could be big blind spots that can take you out as a leader.  Be sure you take advantage of feedback and other self-awareness tools to help you gain a higher self-awareness.

I challenge everyone to take time to consider these three lesser talked about areas of your life that can really cause a pitfall in your ability to lead.  These are very important areas to consider.  If you are lacking in any of these three areas, you should really consider working on them so they don’t end up causing your fall.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Accountability, Change, Health, Influence, Leadership, Performance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

