Goodbye My Lover

We have all been through bad breakups.  For whatever reason, a relationship does not last and it comes to an end and it never seems to go well when it does end.  Sometimes we are on the giving end of them.  We end up breaking someone’s heart.  Sometimes we are on the receiving end of it.  They break up with us.  Those are the ones that hurt the most.  We build up our hopes and dreams around a person and they leave and then everything comes crashing down for us.

Today’s song is like the anthem for the people who get their hearts broken.  “Goodbye My Lover” by James Blunt is just a beautiful melody that is just filled with the hurt of a broken heart.  I actually first heard this song last week thanks to some cds I was listening to that my girlfriend no longer wanted.  The simplicity of the music and the deep seeded hurt contained in the lyrics just blew me away and I fell in love with the song.

Breaking up is never easy, but sometimes a really good sad song can bring some form of healing to the broken-hearted and I think this song has done that for many people and that is why I am featuring this song.  I definitely will be learning this one on piano.  I hope you enjoy and if you are one of those whose heart is broken right now, better days will come.

Official Music Video of the song.

Live Version of the song with Blunt playing the piano.  Beautiful!

Very early live version of this song.

Another great live version.

Amazing live version from 2011.

Piano tutorial for this song.

Cover Version of this song on piano.

Cover Version of this song on guitar.

 

Goodbye My Loveris a pop rock song written by Sacha Skarbek for James Blunt‘s debut album Back to Bedlam.  The song was produced by Tom Rothrock and Jimmy Hogarth and received a positive reception from music critics.  It was released as the fourth single in November 2005 and reached the top ten in the United Kingdom, where it became Blunt’s second top ten single.  It also reached the top ten in Sweden, Australia and France.  In the United States, “Goodbye My Lover” had modest success on the Billboard singles chart, where it reached number 66 on the Billboard Hot 100 due to digital downloads, even though the single was not yet released in the U.S.  The song was formally released in the United States on November 7, 2006.

“Goodbye My Lover” featured a music video that was directed by Sam Brown and was filmed on October 28, 2005 in Los Angeles.  In the video Blunt is featured sitting in a darkened room by himself, reflecting on a past relationship.  In what appears to be the same room, but in daylight, a young woman, Blunt’s former lover, is shown having an intimate encounter with another man.  The video was shot in the former home of Randolph Scott. The young woman in the video was played by actress Mischa Barton.  The young man in the video was played by actor Matt Dallas (Kyle XY).

In December 2005, “Goodbye My Lover” was released in the United Kingdom.  The song became Blunt’s second top ten single when it peaked at number nine on the singles chart, and spent a total of 14 weeks in the top 75.  Outside of the UK, the song was also successful. It reached number one in Sweden and became Blunt’s second number one on the singles chart.  “Goodbye My Lover” was released in Australia in December 2005 and debuted at number eight before ascending the chart to number three, remaining inside the top ten for 16 weeks, a feat rarely reached in recent years.  Due to the favourable reception of Blunt’s previous single “You’re Beautiful“, “Goodbye My Lover” debuted on the United States Billboard Hot 100 singles chart at number 100, even though it had not been released as a single in the U.S.  The single appeared on the chart backed solely on the strength of digital sales after a re-run of an episode of Saturday Night Live that featured Blunt performing the song.  It later re-entered the Billboard Hot 100, again due to digital downloads as a result of Blunt’s performance of the song on The Oprah Winfrey Show.

  • Engelbert Humperdinck recorded a cover of the song in his 2007 album The Winding Road.
  • Michael Scott on NBC‘s The Office repeatedly plays a free internet sample of the song after breaking up with his girlfriend in the Season Three episode “A Benihana Christmas“, as opposed to just buying the whole song.
  • The song ranks No. 1 in funeral song requests according to The Bereavement Register.
  • The song is played in episode 2 of series 2 of Gavin & Stacey with Bryn singing along whilst he and Gwen are driving home.

 

Goodbye My Lover

James Blunt

Did I disappoint you or let you down?
Should I be feeling guilty or let the judges frown?
‘Cause I saw the end before we’d begun,
Yes I saw you were blinded and I knew I had won.
So I took what’s mine by eternal right.
Took your soul out into the night.
It may be over but it won’t stop there,
I am here for you if you’d only care.
You touched my heart you touched my soul.
You changed my life and all my goals.
And love is blind and that I knew when,
My heart was blinded by you.
I’ve kissed your lips and held your hand.
Shared your dreams and shared your bed.
I know you well, I know your smell.
I’ve been addicted to you.

Chorus (2x)
Goodbye my lover.
Goodbye my friend.
You have been the one.
You have been the one for me.

I am a dreamer and when I wake,
You can’t break my spirit – it’s my dreams you take.
( From: http://www.elyrics.net/read/j/james-blunt-lyrics/goodbye-my-lover-lyrics.html )
And as you move on, remember me,
Remember us and all we used to be
I’ve seen you cry, I’ve seen you smile.
I’ve watched you sleeping for a while.
I’d be the father of your child.
I’d spend a lifetime with you.
I know your fears and you know mine.
We’ve had our doubts but now we’re fine,
And I love you, I swear that’s true.
I cannot live without you.

Chorus (2x)
Goodbye my lover.
Goodbye my friend.
You have been the one.
You have been the one for me.

And I still hold your hand in my mine.
In my mine when I’m asleep.
And I will bear my soul in time,
When I’m kneeling at your feet.

Chorus (2x)
Goodbye my lover.
Goodbye my friend.
You have been the one.
You have been the one for me.

Outro (2x)
I’m so hollow, baby, I’m so hollow.
I’m so, I’m so, I’m so hollow.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

