Falling Slowly

Well, another Friday is here.  Today we are featuring a very beautiful ballad called Falling Slowly performed by Glen Hansard and Marketa Irglova.  The song is featured on the 2007 movie Once.

Some songs just have that certain something that makes them very unique.  Because of this, you just know that the song will be around for a long time to come.  So it is with this song.  What I think really gives this song it’s “it” is the beautiful falsetto part in the chorus by Glen Hansard.  He hits it in just a certain way that makes your hairs stand on end.  It is amazing!

Here is a live version that is just breathtaking.

Here is the video of the song performed by the Frames.  The Frames are Glen Hansard’s band.

Great live performance between Glen Hansard and Eddie Vedder.  Amazing!

Great live performance between Glen and Marketa out in the snow at the 2007 Sundance Film Festival.

Falling Slowly” is a song written and performed by Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová, as well as by Hansard’s band, The Frames.  It appeared in their 2007 film Once, from which it won the Academy Award for Best Original Song at the 80th Academy Awards.

The song was written while Once was in production.  John Carney developed the script around songs provided by Hansard and Irglová. In the movie, the duo play the song in Walton’s music shop in Dublin, with Hansard on guitar and Irglová on piano.  The couple performed it at gigs in various European venues over the next two years. Versions appeared in 2006 on two albums: The Cost by Hansard’s band The Frames, and The Swell Season, an album by Hansard and Irglová.

The song was nominated at the 50th Grammy Awards for Best Song Written For Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media; it lost to “Love You I Do” from Dreamgirls.

The song won the Academy Award for Best Original Song on 24 February 2008, ahead of the choral gospel song “Raise It Up” from August Rush and three songs from the modern Disney musical Enchanted. The song’s win marked the fourth year in a row that the Oscar winner had not been nominated for the Golden Globe Award for Best Original Song.  For some time, the song’s eligibility for an Oscar was in dispute, because it had been performed and recorded prior to the release of Once. The Academy ruled that because the song had been composed for the movie, and the prior public exposure during the long period that the movie took to produce had been minimal, it remained eligible.  The Academy had ruled likewise on a similar controversy involving 2004 Best Original Song nominee “In the Deep“.

The song charted at #16 in the Irish Singles Chart when it was first released by The Frames.  The Glen Hansard and Markéta Irglová version charted at #28 in December 2007, before peaking at #2 in March 2008, following the song’s Oscar win.

“Falling Slowly” has been covered by synthpop group Joy Electric on their 2009 covers album, Favorites at Play.  It has also been covered by Emma’s ImaginationDerek Webb recorded a cover of the song on his democratically-selected cover album Democracy, Vol. 2.

Crystal Bowersox & Lee Dewyze also covered this song on American Idol in 2010.  The song was sung in the battle rounds of The Voice of Germany in 2011 by Michael Schulte and Laura & Vicky Maas.

“Falling Slowly” has also been covered by the operatic pop group Il Divo in their album Wicked Game (Il Divo album) as a Spanish rendition, as “Falling Slowly (Te Prometo)”.

“Falling Slowly” was covered by Damian McGinty on Celtic Thunder‘s Voyage album in 2012.

Falling Slowly

by Glen Hansard

I don’t know you
But I want you
All the more for that
Words fall through me
And always fool me
And I can’t react
And games that never amount
To more than they’re meant
Will play themselves out

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You’ll make it now

Falling slowly, eyes that know me
And I can’t go back
Moods that take me and erase me
And I’m painted black
You have suffered enough
And warred with yourself
It’s time that you won

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice

You’ve made it now
Falling slowly sing your melody
I’ll sing it loud

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

