Red Solo Cup

Another Friday, another song.  So far, I have put songs on my blogs that are favorites of mine.  That is a special privilege you get when you have your own blog.  Hopefully, you have enjoyed the songs, but I’m sure that there were some that were not personal favorites of yours.

For today’s song, I am going to break the mold a little bit.  Today’s song has no deep meaning.  It is not one of my favorite songs and this song will never make any Top 10 lists.  I am talking about the song Red Solo Cup by Toby Keith.

I was exposed to this song just recently and to be honest, I just can’t get the song out of my head.  I think the idea of the song is crazy, but that is why I love it.  The video is great.  The live version is pretty good too.  Even the little kids are singing it.  Here is a little trivia for you.  I once worked on one of Toby Keith’s horses at his ranch in central Oklahoma when I worked at an equine referral hospital near Norman.  Of course, Toby was not there because he was on the road so I never got to meet him, but boy he sure had a nice place.  Toby, keep writing crazy songs like this that I can’t get out of my head and I will keep listening my friend!

Red Solo Cup” is the title of a song recorded by American country music singer Toby Keith.  It is the second single from his 2011 album Clancy’s Tavern, from which it was released in October 2011, and is the only song on the album he did not co-write.

“Red Solo Cup” is about the Solo Cup Company‘s red style of plastic cups, and their common usage at parties, among other occasions.  It is in the key of A major, with a primary chord pattern of A-Bm7-E-A on the verses, which are spoken-word.

Singer-songwriter duo The Warren Brothers co-wrote “Red Solo Cup” with Brett Beavers and his brother, Jim Beavers.  The four of them formed a group they called The Warren Beavers, and decided to write something that would “make us all laugh and smile.” According to Brett Warren, Jim Beavers did the majority of the writing.  Keith told CMT that it was “the stupidest song that I have ever heard in my life” but also “freakin’ awesome.”

Giving it four stars out of five, Taste of Country writer Billy Dukes said, “It works because Keith makes no effort to pretend this is anything but a simple and stupid ditty.”

On December 6, 2011, the song was performed on the TV show Glee by Chord Overstreet and members of New Directions.

The music video includes cameos from Jeff Dunham, Carrot Top, Ted Nugent, Sammy Hagar, Craig Ferguson, Geoff Peterson, Roger Clemens, Eric Church, Joe Nichols, Lance Burton and Larry Bird among others.

It has become a viral video on YouTube, with more than 600,000 views before the album’s release.  The video surpassed 12 million views in February 2012.

Red Solo Cup

by Toby Keith

Now, red solo cup is the best receptical
For barbecues, tailgates, fairs, and festivals
And you, sir, do not have a pair of testicles
If you prefer drinkin’ from glass

Hey, red solo cup is cheap and disposable
And in fourteen years, they are decomposable
And unlike my home, they are not foreclosable
Freddy Mac, can kiss my ass

Whoo!

Red solo cup
I fill you up
Let’s have a party
Let’s have a party

I love you, red solo cup
I lift you up
Proceed to party
Proceed to party

Now, I really love how you’re easy to stack
But I really hate how you’re easy to crack
‘Cause when beer runs down the front of my back
Well, that, my friends, is quite yucky

But I have to admit that the ladies get smitten
Admirin’ at how sharply my first name is written
On you with a Sharpie when I get to hittin’ on them to help me get lucky

Red solo cup
I fill you up
Let’s have a party
Let’s have a party

I love you, red solo cup
I lift you up
Proceed to party
Proceed to party

Now, I’ve seen you in blue and I’ve seen you in yellow
But only you, red, will do for this fellow
‘Cause you are the Abbot to my Costello
And you are the Fruit to my Loom

Red solo cup, you’re more than just plastic
You’re more than amazing, you’re more than fantastic
And believe me that I am not the least bit sarcastic
When I look at you and say

Red solo cup, you’re not just a cup
(No! No! No! God, no! )
You’re my-you’re my (Friend?) friend
(Friend x3; Life-long)
Thank you for being my friend

Red solo cup
I fill you up
Let’s have a party
Let’s have a party

I love you, red solo cup
I lift you up
Proceed to party
Proceed to party

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Red Solo Cup

  1. You should check this out 🙂

Leave a Reply

