Loving In Order (Part 1)

Well, today is Saint Valentine’s Day!  I hope that none of you forgot about it.  It is the day devoted to love.

I have decided to devote three blogs to the topic of love this week to commemorate this Valentine’s Day.  In today’s blog, I will give you some history on the origins of Valentine’s Day.  In tomorrow’s blog, I will be addressing all the different categories of people you should show love to and the order of importance you should have them in.  Thursday’s blog will deal with the topic of God’s love to us and how we should pass that love on.  It will definitely be a week filled with love.

Origin of Valentine’s Day

Approximately 250 years after Jesus was born in Bethlehem, there was a priest by the name of Valentine.  He lived in Rome during the reign of Emperor Claudius, who was committed to rebuilding the once-great Roman army.  However, he believed it was important for men to volunteer for armed service, rather than drafting men into service against their will.  But, given a choice, most young men in the Roman Empire refused to serve.  They’d rather stay at home with their wives and children than go off into battle.

Claudius came to believe that only single men would volunteer for service, so he issued a royal edict that banned all further marriages.  He actually outlawed weddings in the Roman Empire, earning himself the nick-name Claudius the Cruel.

Valentine thought it was ridiculous! One of his favorite duties as a priest was to marry people.  So after Emperor Claudius passed his law, Valentine secretly continued performing marriage ceremonies.  He would whisper the words of the ceremony, while listening for soldiers on the steps outside.

One night, Valentine did hear footsteps at his door.  The couple he was marrying escaped, but he was caught.  He was thrown in jail and sentenced to death.  Valentine tried to stay cheerful.  Many of the young couples he had married came to visit him in jail.  They threw flowers and notes up to his window.  They wanted him to know that they, too, believed in love.

On day, he received a visit from the daughter of one of the prison guards.  Her father allowed her to visit him in his cell and they often sat and talked for hours.  She believed he did the right thing by ignoring the Emperor and performing weddings.  On the day Valentine was to die, he left her a note thanking her for her friendship and loyalty.  He signed it, “Love from your Valentine.”  That note started the custom of exchanging love notes on Valentine’s Day.  It was written on the day he died, February 14, 269 A.D.-a day that was set aside in honor of a man who gave his life for God and for love.  Now, every year on this day, people remember Saint Valentine, but most importantly, they think about love.

Now you know how Valentine’s day came about if you did not already know.  I hope you all have a wonderful day filled with love.  Please don’t forget to tell all the people who are important in your life that you love them and thank them for everything they do for you.

Check out Part 2 of this blog tomorrow.  I promise that you will find it very helpful.  Happy Valentine’s Day!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in God, Love, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

