When the Music’s Over

This Friday, I thought that we would go way back to the late 60’s.  The Doors are my second favorite group, behind the Beatles.  There were only together for a very short time as a group, but what they did absolutely changed the landscape of dark rock.  The experimentation and sounds they were able to create with only 3 people playing instruments was just amazing.  It was a time of mind expansion and excess and no group captured that quite like the doors. 

There really isn’t a Doors song that I don’t like, and I will definitely feature others in time, but today I wanted to start with a lesser known song of theirs.  When the Music’s Over is their third longest recorded songs and is pretty long, but there is so much going on musically and lyrically in this song, that I think it is a great song to feature that really sums up what they were all about as a group.  I think this song defines the Doors better than any other of their songs.

I was able to find this live version of this song from 1968.  It is the tightest live performance of this song that I have ever seen and it is just fantastic.   Ray Manzarek just kills it on the organ solo.  Just amazing!

Another live version of the song from 1968.  This one seems a little darker.  Jim was a little more high on this one.

Here is a portion of their Isle of Wright performance in 1970.  Really was the beginning of the end for Jim.  Very sad really.  I hope you enjoy!

 

When the Music’s Over” is a song by American rock band The Doors, featured on their 1967 album Strange Days.  The song, at almost eleven minutes long, is their third longest recorded song, behind “The End“, at 11:42, and “Celebration of the Lizard“, at 17:01.  A 16:16 version appears on The Doors’ 1970 album Absolutely Live.

When the band originally recorded the song, Jim Morrison did not show up for the session, so the band recorded it with Ray Manzarek singing.  Jim ended up coming in the next day and had to re-record the vocals.

The song starts out with a jazzy riff featuring Ray Manzarek on organ and John Densmore on drums.  Right at the beginning of the song, you can hear Jim Morrison say, “Yeah, come on,” to add to the feel of the intro.  Also the organ tune at the start is almost identical to the piece used in Soul Kitchen from the previous album.  The band kicks in to start the first verse, which they repeat twice, and then Morrison sings the chorus.  A guitar solo by Robby Krieger then commences, which lasts 44 seconds.  Again, another song from the first album is recalled when Morrison sings, “Turn out the lights,”—it is performed in the same way as the lyric “End of the night” is on the track of the same name.  The song’s volume gradually decreases as the epic poem begins.  This very quiet portion of the song, which lasts about four minutes, features Morrison singing, with a quiet bass line from Manzarek, soft guitar by Krieger, and drums by Densmore.  The poem portion is occasionally sparked from loud bursts from Densmore’s drums.  The song is almost silent when the famous lyric “We want the world and we want it now!” is declared by all four members of the Doors.  A drum roll crescendo is then heard. The song abruptly kicks into gear again as Morrison screams out the rest of the lyrics.  The final one and a half minutes is the first verse of the song sung once again.

“When the Music’s Over” appears at the end of the workprint of the 1979 film Apocalypse Now, when Willard kills Kurtz; it was replaced by “The End” in the theatrical version.

During live performances, Jim Morrison usually ended up flopping around on the floor.  The Doors performed it live many times in 1966 when they were the house band at the Whiskey-A-Go-Go in Los Angeles.  It was not released on an album until a year later.

Arguably, one of the most beautifully intense moments of any Rock song is when Morrison screams, “Persian Night! See the Light! Save Us! Jesus! Save Us!”  The first 2 lines reference the wise men from the Bible, often referred to as The Magi.  The Magi is a priestly caste from ancient Persia.  On that Christmas night the Persian Magi looked into the night and saw the Star of Bethlehem.

Two guitar solos were played simultaneously. They were improvised by Robbie Krieger in the studio.

Krieger: “That solo was a real challenge because the harmony is static. I had to play 56 bars over the same riff.”

When the Music’s Over

by the Doors

Yeah, c’mon

When the music’s over
When the music’s over, yeah
When the music’s over
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights, yeah

When the music’s over
When the music’s over
When the music’s over
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights

For the music is your special friend
Dance on fire as it intends
Music is your only friend
Until the end
Until the end
Until the end

Cancel my subscription to the Resurrection
Send my credentials to the House of Detention
I got some friends inside

The face in the mirror won’t stop
The girl in the window won’t drop
A feast of friends
“Alive!” she cried
Waitin’ for me
Outside!

Before I sink
Into the big sleep
I want to hear
I want to hear
The scream of the butterfly

Come back, baby
Back into my arm
We’re gettin’ tired of hangin’ around
Waitin’ around with our heads to the ground

I hear a very gentle sound
Very near yet very far
Very soft, yeah, very clear
Come today, come today

What have they done to the earth?
What have they done to our fair sister?
Ravaged and plundered and ripped her and bit her
Stuck her with knives in the side of the dawn
And tied her with fences and dragged her down

I hear a very gentle sound
With your ear down to the ground
We want the world and we want it…
We want the world and we want it…
Now
Now?
Now!

Persian night, babe
See the light, babe
Save us!
Jesus!
Save us!

So when the music’s over
When the music’s over, yeah
When the music’s over
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights
Turn out the lights

Well the music is your special friend
Dance on fire as it intends
Music is your only friend
Until the end
Until the end
Until the end!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

