Everyone Sells: Only Some Are Really Good At It

I know what some of you are saying.  “I’m not a salesperson.”  Well, that may be true or is it.  The truth is that all of us are salespeople to some extent.  We all sell something several times a day.  I am not just talking about specific retail products here.  Each one of us will have to sell ourselves several times each day.  Maybe you are going out to eat and a movie with your spouse.  You might find yourself selling your idea of why you should eat at this place or why you should go to that particular movie.  Maybe you will find yourself selling an idea to your kid of why is not a good idea to stick the cat in the dryer.  Or you might find yourself trying to sell your case to your bank about the reason your account overdrew and that they should not charge you a penalty this time.

The truth is that all of us sell something, even if it is not a tangible item you can hold in your hands.  For that reason, it is important that we all work to develop our selling skills at least a little so we can be more effective when we do find ourselves selling something.  Periodically, I will be featuring blogs that will help us develop our selling skills. 

A good place to start is to try to determine what type of selling style identifies best with you and your personality.  Understanding you selling style can help you find the right career fit for you.  It can also make you much more effective in the relationships you have with people you interact with.

Brian Jeffrey is the co-founder and president of Salesforce Assessments Ltd., a company that helps sales managers hire the right people for the right jobs.  Brian said recently in an article in SUCCESS magazine I read that, “It’s been estimated that 55 percent of those people who earn their living in sales should be doing something else, and another 225 percent should be selling something else.”

Does that mean if you’re not excelling in sales that you should quit?  Not necessarily.  But it might mean some soul-searching is in order.  “Some temperaments are better suited for some selling environments than others,” Jeffrey says.  So what temperament are you? 

Check out the following list and see if you can identify yourself in one of these temperaments:

Hunters: Always seeking new opportunities.

Farmers: Thrive on nurturing and maintaining strong relationships.

Shopkeepers: Enjoy helping people by filling requests.

Repairmen: Tech-lovers who like to chat about the details.

Handymen: Supportive individuals who enjoy staying behind the scenes.

Hunters and farmer/hunter blends fit best with outside sales, Jeffrey says.  They like to be out beating the bushes for new leads.  On the other hand, farmers are perfect for long-term selling relationships.  Shopkeepers are best suited for inside sales and retail-selling situations.  Repairmen and handymen don’t typically enjoy selling; they’re better as part of a support team.

“some people are hard-wired to be successful in sales to some degree, and some aren’t,” Jeffrey says.  Making sure you’re in the right role for your temperament-and filling your team with the right people-will improve your chances of success.

So stop fighting the fact that you are a seller.  Just look to develop your skills in the realm of your natural temperament and you will find that selling is not such a chore.  Just remember to be yourself and let that lead everything and you will be on the right track.  Happy selling!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Performance, Relationships, Selling, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

