The Beauty of Having Options

The president of Ford Motor Co., Robert McNamara once asked one of his executives after a decision they had made, “What did you decide not to do?”  It is not that McNamara thought the executive had made a poor decision, but how could he have known for sure if he didn’t know what options had been rejected?  McNamara wanted to make sure that multiple options had been considered.  He wanted to make sure that his executive had not settled for the obvious decision, even if that decision looked good on the surface.  McNamara wanted to make sure that his executive had made the best decision.

Why is it important to consider multiple options during the decision-making process?

If we know our options, we can often come up with a creative solution.  If we don’t have options or if you don’t know your options, we are stuck.  In decision making, if we do not have options, we only have one decision.  That decision may be the wrong decision, or it may not be the best decision.

Think of this example.  Say you have to go to the store in the town where you live.  You probably know several different routes you could take and still get to your destination.  If you are taking one of those routes and you find out that the road is closed, you can then detour and take one of the alternative routes to the store and still get there.  If you only know the one route, then you are stuck and your only option is to turn around.  The end result is that you don’t get to the store.

The more options we have, the more we can see what is not obvious to others.  Successful people are really good at seeing what is not obvious to others.  Successful people engage the creative parts of their minds and find different ways to look at a problem.  They wonder how else they could deal with a decision.  They wonder about what the possibilities are.

Options are a result of thinking early, often, and differently.  When we think early, often, and differently, we begin to create more options within our lives.  Options comes from the discipline of pursuing options.  Many times this discipline will take us down roads we never would have traveled to, to places we never would have seen, where we find new options we never would have considered.

I would like to offer a challenge to you.  The next time somebody asks you to make a decision about a situation, don’t offer an immediate solution, but instead ask the question “What are our options?”  Then be willing to hear the good, the bad, the pretty, the ugly, the impossible, the possible, the convenient, and the inconvenient.  Be willing to hear all the options.  Once you have all the options, then you can comfortably and confidently make your decision and know it is a very well-informed decision.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, Leadership, Opportunity, Thoughts/Mindset, Time and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

