Comedown

Another Friday has come our way.  Today we are looking back to a song that was very popular when I was a senior in high school at dear old Hudson High.  It is the song Comedown by Bush.  Here is a great acoustic version of this song I found.  Here is Bush performing the song live at Woodstock 99.  Here is an absolutely amazing cover of this song.

This song reminds me of my youth so that makes it a very special song to me.  It is amazing how certain songs can just do that to you so strongly.  Maybe this song has some special memories for you as well.  I hope you enjoy!

Bush is an alternative rock band formed in London in 1992 shortly after vocalist/guitarist Gavin Rossdale and guitarist Nigel Pulsford met in a London nightclub.  Realising they shared a love for such diverse artists as the Pixies, Bob Marley, The Jesus Lizard, MC5, Nirvana, Hüsker Dü, and Big Black, they decided to form a band together.  It was not long before they recruited drummer Robin Goodridge and bassist Dave Parsons and started writing.  Dave Parsons joined Bush shortly after leaving the band Transvision Vamp.  Drummers such as Sasha Gervasi, Amir, and Spencer Cobrin had all filled in as Bush drummers before Robin Goodridge was made the permanent fit and thus completing the Bush lineup.

The band found immediate success with the release of their debut album Sixteen Stone in 1994, which is certified 6× multi-platinum by the RIAA.  Bush went on to become one of the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1990s, selling over 10 million records in the United States.  Despite their success in the United States, the band was less well known in their home country and enjoyed only marginal success there.  Bush have had numerous top ten singles on the Billboard rock charts, and one #1 album for Razorblade Suitcase in 1996.  The band separated in 2002 but the name was revived in 2010 and began work on a new album, The Sea of Memories, which was released in September 2011.

The group chose the name “Bush” because they used to live in Shepherd’s Bush, London.

In Canada, they were once known as Bushx, because the 1970s band Bush, led by Domenic Troiano, owned the Canadian rights to the name.  In April 1997, it was announced that Troiano had agreed to let them use the name Bush in Canada without the exponent x, in exchange for donating $20,000 each to the Starlight Children’s Foundation and the Canadian Music Therapy Trust Fund.

Formation and Sixteen Stone(1992-1995)

After leaving his band Midnight, Gavin Rossdale met former King Blank guitarist Nigel Pulsford in 1992.  The two bonded over an appreciation of the American alternative rock group the Pixies.  The two formed a new band which they called Future Primitive. Describing the early sound of the group, one British record label executive said years later, “They weren’t what they are today – they were a little like the more commercial side of INXS“.  The pair recruited bassist Dave Parsons (formerly of The Partisans and Transvision Vamp) and drummer Robin Goodridge to complete the lineup.

In 1993, the band was signed by Rob Kahane, who had a distribution deal with Disney‘s Hollywood Records.  The band completed recording its debut album Sixteen Stone in early 1994.  However, the death of Disney executive Frank G. Wells eliminated a supporter for Kahane, and executives at Hollywood deemed Bush’s album unacceptable for release.  As a result, the members of Bush took jobs performing menial labour.  Interscope Records ultimately decided to release the album, and at the end of 1994, Kahane sent an advance copy of the album to a friend at influential Los Angeles radio station KROQ-FM, which added the song “Everything Zen” to its rotation.

Today’s song “Comedown” appeared on that famous first album Sixteen Stone in 1994.

Lead singer Gavin Rossdale wrote this about his ex-girlfriend, Suze DiMarchi.  She was lead singer of a band called Baby Animals.

Rossdale had written songs with other people, but this was the first one he wrote on his own.  It gave him a lot of confidence and inspired him to keep writing.

Rossdale said of this song: “It was written in the context of half regret, half celebration and just being objective about the situation of coming down from that high and dealing with those intense emotions.”

Comedown

by Bush

Love and hate get it wrong
She cut me right back down to size
Sleep the day let it fade
Who was there to take your place
No one knows never will
Mostly me but mostly you
Do you say do you do
When it all comes down

Cause I don’t wanna come back down from this cloud
It’s taken me all this time to find out what I need yeah
I don’t wanna come back down from this cloud
It’s taken me all this all this time

There is no blame only shame
When you beg you just complain
More I come more I try
All police are paranoid
So am I – so’s the future
So are you – be a creature
Do you say do you do
When it all comes down

Cause I don’t wanna come back down from this cloud
It’s taken me all this time to find out what I need yeah yeah yeah
I don’t wanna come back down from this cloud
It’s taken me all this all this time

Shoot up, shoot, shoot up, you’re high

Love and hate get it wrong
She cut me right back down to size
Sleep the day let it fade
Who was there to take your place
No one knows never will
Mostly me but mostly you
What do you say do you do
When it all comes down

Cause I don’t wanna come back down from this cloud
It’s taken me all this time to find out what I need yeah yeah yeah
I don’t wanna come back down from this cloud
It’s taken me all this all this time

why did you (9x)
comedown 

I don’t want to come back down from this cloud
this cloud (8x)

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comedown

  1. Stephanie says:

    LOVE this song! The album Sixteen Stone? Amazing.

  2. Never say never. werbeartikel shop werbegeschenke

Leave a Reply

