5 Lies Christians Believe (Part 4 of 5)

In Part 1 of this blog series, I talked about how it is very important to be involved in your local church.  In Part 2 of this blog series, I talked about how there is more to it than just being nice and performing good works.  In Part 3 of this blog series, I talked about how God wants to be intimately involved in all areas of our lives, even the small stuff.

As we continue on today, I would like to address the 4th lie that Christians tend to believe:

We believe that only pastors or those in “leadership” can, in fact, lead.

Churches use words like pastor, counselor, minister, or lay person.  They are essentially stating that you must be a professional to serve or lead within the body of the church.  The beauty of the Body of Christ is that God calls ordinary men and women to do His extraordinary work.  You do not need a seminary degree, a certificate of training, or a title from your church’s administration to serve, disciple, or equip those around you.  You only need three things: a willingness, faithfulness, and the Holy Spirit.

Many churches today are trying to redefine the roles in the church today so that they can be more in-line with the way Christ wanted the church to function.  Here is how the hierarchy should look in a church molded after the way Jesus wanted to look: I will compare the roles to normal business roles so a comparison can be made.  In this model the boss is God.  The management is the church staff and elders.  The employees are the members of the church.  The customers are the surrounding community, occasional worshipers, and worshipers in need.  As you can see, the traditional “leadership” of the church will help manage the direction the church goes in, but it is the congregation that should be doing most of the work.

In this new model, the regular staff and elders of the church are called leader-equippers and the members of the church are the ones who are called ministers.  The preaching and teaching of staff/elders should be viewed as equipping activities.  They are providing the congregation with the knowledge and teaching that will allow them to go out and serve God’s people.  They help church members discover their spiritual gifts and equip them to become effective in the ministry God calls them to do.  All other activities within the church should be viewed as ministry that members can be equipped to perform.  The members of the church are responsible for discovering their gifting and where they can use it in ministry, while seeking equipping to become more effective in that ministry. 

This model does not work if the congregation sees themselves as customers where the church’s role is to serve their needs.  The congregation needs to see themselves as employees and ask themselves how they can serve the church.

This is not some crazy, new idea that someone thought up.  The bible actually instructs the church to be set up in this way.  Check this out:

“So Christ himself gave the apostles, the prophets, the evangelists, the pastors and teachers, to equip His people for works of service, so that the body of Christ may be built up until we all reach unity in the faith and in the knowledge of the Son of God and become mature, attaining to the whole measure of the fullness of Christ.  Then we will no longer be infants, tossed back and forth by the waves, and blown here and there by every wind of teaching and by the cunning and craftiness of people in their deceitful scheming.  Instead, speaking the truth in love, we will grow to become in every respect the mature body of Him who is the head, that is, Christ.  From Him the whole body, joined and held together by every supporting ligament, grows and guilds itself up in love, as each part does its work.”

                                                                               Ephesians 4:11-16

I had never read that until just about a month ago.  I had never thought of it like that.  What an amazing idea!  It has totally changed how I have looked at my involvement in the church. 

I would like to challenge all of us to step up and be the church.  Look for ways to make our church better instead of focusing on how our church can make us better.  Let’s put on a hat that says “serve” and enter our churches boldly and really make a difference.  In the process, you will find that you will end up getting much benefit as well.  Let’s break down the old idea that only the traditional leaders in the church are the ones who can get things done.  Blow them away with what you can do!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, God and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

