5 Lies Christians Believe (Part 1 of 5)

The apostle Paul wrote the following in 2 Timothy 4:3-4:

“For a time is coming when people will no longer listen to sound and wholesome teaching.  They will follow their own desires and will look for teachers who will tell them whatever their itching ears want to hear.  They will reject the truth and chase after myths.”

When you really look at it, you will find that we are all susceptible to believing lies at any given time.  This world has an uncanny ability to present false ideas as being the genuine truth.  If it is published somewhere, someone out there will surely believe it.  It would be easy to make the assumption that because Christians are followers of the Truth, that we would be less susceptible to such lies.

The real truth is that Christians are just as susceptible as non-Christians to believing the lies created by this world.  Sometimes Christians don’t even realize that they are lies because the lie is portrayed in our society as being biblical in nature.  But this is simply not always the case.

There are hundreds of lies that Christians everywhere believe, either collectively or individually.

I would like to present 5 lies that I think are lies that Christians can tend to believe that can be particularly destructive to Christian’s walk with God.  I will be presenting these 5 lies and addressing each individually over the course of five separate blogs.

To start things off, lets look at those 5 lies:

  1. Church is not necessary.
  2. All Christians need to do is be “good” and act “nice.”
  3. God doesn’t care about your small things.
  4. We believe that only pastors or those in “leadership” can lead.
  5. God wants us to be happy.

So on today’s blog we are going to discuss the first lie.

Church is not necessary. 

This is saying that it is ok to be a lone Christian.  Obviously, a portion of your relationship is done solo.  In reading the bible, this is something that you will do on your own in most cases.  Maybe you are working on a personal bible study by yourself.  Certainly, the majority of time that you spend praying will be done silently to yourself.   There is no doubt that a good portion of your walk with God will be done on your own.  Just you and God.  At no point though, should you base your entire walk with God without including other people.

The church is the earthly collection of believers who get together to worship God.  The help lift each other up.  They motivate each other.  They hold each other accountable.  Christians must stand together to make themselves stronger and in doing so will help fight off the forces of world evil that surround us everywhere.  The church is how we do this.  The church was the idea of Jesus and is part of God’s plan for us.  God wants us to be involved in the church.

Let’s look at some Scripture that confirms this:

“Now I say to you that you are Peter (which means rock), and upon this rock I will build my church, and all the powers of hell will not conquer it.”

                                                                                Matthew 16:18

“Then they went from town to town, instructing the believers to follow the decisions made by the apostles and elders in Jerusalem.  So the churches were strengthened in their faith and grew larger everyday.”

                                                                                Acts 16:4-5

“So guard yourselves and God’s people.  Feed and shepherd God’s flock-his church, purchased with his own blood-over which the Holy Spirit has appointed you as elders.”

                                                                               Acts 20:28

“For a husband is the head of his wife as Christ is the head of the church.  He is the Savior of his body, the church.”

                                                                              Ephesians 5:23

“Christ is also the head of the church, which is his body.”

                                                                              Colossians 1:18

As we can see from these verses that the church represents Christ’s body here on earth.  All believers are a part of that body.  That means that we need to be a part of the church.  Jesus is the head of the church.  If we believe in Jesus and wish to follow him, how can we not be involved in the earthly thing that He is the head of?

The church is the bringing together of a visible organization with a shared confession, mission, and value system.  Think of the church as the covenant community that visibly manifests the invisible kingdom  The church is Jesus’ instrument for proclaiming the Good News of the kingdom.  It is the community through which one enters the kingdom, and through which one begins to experience the blessings of living under God’s kingdom rule.  The church, in the form of the local community of believers is the front door of the kingdom.

You might say that you tried church and you didn’t like it or you didn’t fit in or you felt judged.  All of these things can certainly be true.  Remember that churches are led by people and people are sinners by nature so no church will be perfect.  Just remember that there is more than one church.  If you don’t seem to “fit in” at one church, go ahead and give another church a try.  Keep looking until you find one you like because it is very important that you become involved in the church.

There was a point in my life when I was not a steady church attender.  There have also been times that I went to church, but was not really involved at all.  I was just an “attender.”  During these times in my life, my lack of accountability and relationship with other believers pushed me to my furthest point away from God.  I would wake up each morning and feel hopeless and alone.  That is a terrible feeling.  One that I never want to feel in my life again.  Since I have made the decision in my life to get actively involved in the church, I have not felt that sense of aloneness and helplessness.  Bad things still come along in my life, but I don’t feel like it is me vs. the world anymore.

If you are a Christian and don’t think that going to church is important, I plead for you to reconsider.  Try it or try it again at a different church.  You may not even realize what you are missing.  If you can’t find a place, let me know and you can go with me!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Change, Decisions, God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 5 Lies Christians Believe (Part 1 of 5)

  1. Pingback: 5 Lies Christians Believe (Part 2 of 5) | wmarsau

Leave a Reply

