Holiday in Spain

I know that it has been quite a while since we have had our Friday song.  Sorry about that, but I was having some technical difficulties downloading music clips to my blog, but I think I have it figured out now.  We shall see.  Now you will have to click on a highlighted word to see the music video.  This is my test run. 

For today’s song, I decided to go with a more obscure B-side song by the Counting Crows. 

Check out this live version of the song performed several years ago at a concert in Idaho.

Here is a version of the Counting Crows performing the song with Blof.  They would commonly perform this song together with the two lead singers from each respective band singing the song in the two different languages.  This is pretty cool!

This is a cool cover of the song.  Lee Dewyzee who you might know from American Idol performs this stunning cover version of the song at one of his concerts.  This might be my favorite version of them all. 

For me this song represents getting out and traveling.  Anywhere really.  Thoughts of being young and having no cares in the world.  Taking the person you love with you.  This is not a deep song and their are no hidden meanings, but I just really enjoy the flow of the song.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Holiday in Spain” is a song originally performed by Counting Crows on the album Hard Candy, and was later recorded as a duet with Dutch pop-group Bløf.

Hard Candy

On July 9, 2002, the band released their fourth studio album, Hard Candy.  The album included a cover of Joni Mitchell‘s song “Big Yellow Taxi“.  Vanessa Carlton contributed backing vocals to the single edit of the track, which appeared on the soundtrack for Two Weeks Notice and was re-released on future Hard Candy albums. The original version, without vocals by Carlton, appeared on the first album release as a hidden track.  Hard Candy received better reviews than the previous efforts, with “radio friendly” songs, like “American Girls” (which featured Sheryl Crow on backing vocals), and contains a more upbeat feel and tempo.  The band toured with the Dutch band, Bløf.  A song, “Holiday in Spain,” came together as a result of the camaraderie between the two groups: it is sung partly as a dual language duet, and partly as a musical “round”, with both lead singers singing in differing languages at the end of the song.

Midway through the Hard Candy tour, drummer Ben Mize (born February 2, 1971, Durham, North Carolina) amicably left the band to spend more time with his family and pursue his own musical interests.  After Mize completed the American leg of the tour, he was replaced by Jim Bogios, formerly a drummer with Ben Folds and Sheryl Crow.  Following the Hard Candy tour, longtime bassist Matt Malley left the band.  He was replaced by Millard Powers.

Formation

Singer Adam Duritz (former member of the San Francisco Bay Area band The Himalayans) and producer/guitarist David Bryson formed Counting Crows in San Francisco in 1991.  Counting Crows began as an acoustic duo, playing gigs in and around Berkeley and San Francisco.  Another friend, guitarist David Immerglück, played with them from time to time, though he was not an official member of the group, and experimented with other musicians in the area.  As the emerging band recorded some demos, and as other musicians joined the duo to make a full band, Immerglück recorded with the band on some of the songs for their first album.  He declined joining the band at the time, because of his membership in two other locally popular bands, Monks of Doom and Camper Van Beethoven.  By 1993, the band had grown to a stable lineup of Duritz as vocalist, occasional pianist, and primary songwriter, Bryson on guitar, Matt Malley playing bass guitar, Charlie Gillingham on keyboards, and Steve Bowman as drummer, and the band was a regular in the Bay Area scene.  The same year, the band signed to Geffen Records.  On January 16, 1993, the band, still relatively unknown, filled in for Van Morrison at the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame ceremony, and was introduced by an enthusiastic Robbie Robertson.  At the ceremony, they played a cover of Van Morrison’s “Caravan“.

Before signing to Geffen, the band recorded demo versions of a number of songs, known as the ‘Flying Demos’.  These later surfaced among the Counting Crows fanbase.  Tracks include “Rain King“, “Omaha”, “Anna Begins”, “Einstein on the Beach (For an Eggman)“, “Shallow Days”, “Love and Addiction”, “Mr. Jones“, “Round Here“, “40 Years”, “Margery Dreams of Horses”, “Bulldog”, “Lightning”, and “We’re Only Love”.  Some songs from the tape later resurfaced (in reworked versions) on the band’s debut album August and Everything After.

Origin of the name

The band took its name from a divination rhyme about the crow, heard by Duritz in the film Signs of Life.  The rhyme begins the third verse (around the 2:07 mark) of the song “A Murder of One” on the album August and Everything After : “Well I dreamt I saw you walking up a hillside in the snow / Casting shadows on the winter sky as you stood there, counting crows / One for sorrow, two for joy / Three for girls and four for boys / Five for silver, six for gold / Seven for a secret never to be told.”

Current members
  • Jim Bogios – drums, vocals (2002–present)
  • David Bryson – guitar, vocals (1991–present)
  • Adam Duritz – lead vocals, piano (1991–present)
  • Charlie Gillingham – accordion, clarinet, keyboards, piano (1992–present)
  • David Immergluck – guitar, pedal steel guitar, banjo, mandolin, vocals (1999–present)
  • Millard Powers – bass guitar, piano, vocals (2005–present)
  • Dan Vickrey – guitar, vocals, banjo (1994–present)
Former members
  • Steve Bowman – drums (1991–1994)
  • Marty Jones – bass guitar (1991–1992)
  • Matt Malley – bass guitar, vocals (1992–2005)
  • Ben Mize – drums, vocals (1994–2002)
Studio albums

Holiday in Spain

by Counting Crows

Got no place to go
but there’s a girl waiting for me down in Mexico
She’s got a bottle of tequila, a bottle of gin
And if I bring a little music I can fit right in
We’ve got airplane rides
We got California drowning out the window side
We’ve got big black cars
And we’ve got stories how we slept with all the movie stars
I may take a holiday in Spain
Leave my wings behind me
Drink my worries down the drain
And fly away to somewhere new
Hop on my choo-choo
I’ll be your engine driver in a bunny suit
If you dress me up in pink and white
We may be just a little fuzzy ’bout it later tonight
She’s my angel
She’s a little better than the one that used to be with me
Cause she liked to scream at me
Man, it’s a miracle that she’s not living up in a tree
I may take a holiday in Spain
Leave my wings behind me
Drive this little girl insane
And fly away to someone new
Everybody’s gone
They left the television screaming that the radio’s on
Someone stole my shoes
But there’s a couple of bananas and a bottle of booze
Oh, well happy new year’s baby
We could probably fix it if we clean it up all day
Or we could simply pack our bags
And catch a plane to Barcelona ’cause this city’s a drag
I may take a holiday in Spain
Leave my wings behind me
Flush my worries down the drain
And fly away to somewhere new
Take a holiday in Spain
Leave my wings behind me
Drive this little girl insane
Fly away to someone new
Fly away to someone new
Fly away to someone new

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holiday in Spain

  1. 徵信社 says:

    This has actually sparked up an idea in my mind. This really is a superb weblog article.

  2. iPad3 says:

    Undoubtedly, one of the best article l have come across on this precious topic. I quite agree with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates.

Leave a Reply

