Who Knew

Another Friday, another song.  I just love this song.  What it is about is a little depressing, but the chorus is so catchy.  Pink’s vocals just belt out the emotion inside her and it takes the song to a whole other level.  I hope you enjoy!

Who Knew” is a pop rock song written by Pink, Max Martin and Dr. Luke for Pink’s fourth album, I’m Not Dead (2006).  It was released as the album’s second single worldwide in 2006, and was re-released to U.S. radio as the album’s fourth single in the United States in 2007, after the success of “U + Ur Hand“.

Pink has stated that “Who Knew” is her favorite song from her first compilation, Greatest Hits… So Far!!!, as it can be about almost everyone.  Lyrically, it is about losing a friend because of drugs.  The music video shows Pink singing in a county fair, with a storyline about two young lovers who end up being separated after the guy begins using drugs.  The song is Pink’s longest chart runner on the Hot 100, spending 36 weeks before dropping out.

Background

In an interview for the London Daily Mail on 26 May 2006, Pink said this song is about losing a loved one to drugs: “My life was insane, I was [in her youth] out of control and doing lots of stupid things.  Some of my friends were selling crack, and I got into drugs too.  I’ve always been honest about that, although I don’t like going into details. I’ve got lots of young fans and I wouldn’t want to give them any ideas. I found a friend dead from a drug overdose when I was 14.  He was a male friend, not a boyfriend.  Most of the people at the funeral were just children.  It should have been a wake-up call for me, but it wasn’t.”  Billboard magazine, in its second review of the song (to accompany the U.S. re-release), called it “another cool, smart, plenty passionate melodic jewel about the death of a friend and/or friendship, with an instantly identifiable, quick-to-the-point, singalong track—maintaining Pink’s stance as the smartest female millennium-era singer/songwriter, dazzling in star quality as alterna-pop’s premier princess.”

The song features acoustic guitar, keyboards, drums, and electric guitars.  Gottwald, Martin and Pink co-wrote another song on the album, “U + Ur Hand“.

Chart performance

It was released as the album’s second single in 2006 (see 2006 in music) and was very popular in Australia, where it reached number two on the ARIA Singles Chart and is certified platinum for sales of over 70,000 copies.  It was ranked at number nine on ARIA‘s Top 100 singles of 2006.  “Who Knew” entered the UK Singles Chart at #19 in early June, 2006 and ascended to a peak of #5 the following week.  It is her joint fifth highest charting single in the UK and her second longest charting behind only “So What!”.  With a total of 26 weeks inside the top 100 songs it beats her #1 hit “Just Like A Pill”.

When the single was originally released in North America, “Who Knew” was less successful.  Though it peaked at number nineteen on the BDS Airplay Chart in Canada, it was virtually ignored by American radio.  In the U.S., where it was released to mainstream radio on May 8, 2006, it failed to chart on the Billboard Hot 100, initially reaching number 18 on the Bubbling Under Hot 100 Singles chart (which comprises the most popular songs yet to enter the Hot 100).  Billboard magazine credited the poor performance of the single on radio with significantly reducing momentum of initial sales of I’m Not Dead.

In March 2007 the song was used in promotion for the ABC television show October Road, after which download sales of the song increased; as a result, it debuted at number ninety-five on the Hot 100 at the end of the month.  During the same period, “U + Ur Hand”, the third single from I’m Not Dead, had achieved major success on pop radio and was credited with “reviving” Pink’s career in the U.S.  Pink performed “Who Knew” on the May 9, 2007, episode of American Idol.  It was re-released to mainstream radio in the United States on June 26, 2007, although it had already been receiving minor airplay on CHR/top 40 and hot AC/adult top 40 stations earlier in the month.  In week twenty-five of 2007 “Who Knew” re-entered the Billboard Hot 100 at number ninety-four; it eventually climbed to number nine, giving Pink her eighth top ten single on the chart and matching the peak position of “U + Ur Hand”.

Music video

The single’s video was directed by Dragon, a team comprising Sam Bayer, Robert Hales and Brian Lazzaro.  It was filmed in the weekend beginning April 15, 2006 in Los Angeles, United States, and it was released to the internet and to UK music channels in early May 2006. The video reached number one on MTV Germany‘s top ten and on TRL Italy.  “Who Knew” was voted number one on TRL Germany twenty times, allowing Pink to earn the “Golden Tape”.  In the U.S. Total Request Live broadcast a “First Look” of the video on May 22, and it debuted on the show’s top ten countdown the following day; it spent eight non-consecutive days on the countdown (until June 9), peaking at number seven.

It features a young couple visiting a fairground and going on the rides, and at one point the boy puts a necklace on the girl.  The video flashes back to the boy secretly injecting himself with drugs on a previous night while the girl is sleeping.  At the carnival, when the girl is playing a game, the boy walks away.  The girl realizes he’s gone and follows him, but when she tries to get him to stay with her he gets violent.  He goes to the back of the fairground to inject himself with drugs and breaks into a sweat.  His girlfriend wanders around looking for him, and finds him unconscious; he has overdosed.  She gives him a kiss, gives back the necklace and phones for an ambulance; after it has arrived, she walks away crying.  The video is inter-cut with shots of Pink singing the song at the entrance to the fairground.

In Pink’s 2008 album Funhouse, she compares life to a carnival, because carnivals are supposed to be enjoyable, but in actuality, they’re not.  The setting for the music video with the fairgrounds provides a false sense of security for the girl in the music video.

 

Who Knew

You took my hand
You showed me how
You promised me you’d be around
Uh huh
That’s right
I took your words
And I believed
In everything
You said to me
Yeah huh
That’s right

If someone said three years from now
You’d be long gone
I’d stand up and punch them out
Cause they’re all wrong
I know better
Cause you said forever
And ever
Who knew

Remember when we were such fools
And so convinced and just too cool
Oh no
No no
I wish I could touch you again
I wish I could still call you friend
I’d give anything

When someone said count your blessings now
‘fore they’re long gone
I guess I just didn’t know how
I was all wrong
They knew better
Still you said forever
And ever
Who knew

Yeah yeah
I’ll keep you locked in my head
Until we meet again
Until we
Until we meet again
And I won’t forget you my friend
What happened

If someone said three years from now
You’d be long gone
I’d stand up and punch them out
Cause they’re all wrong and
That last kiss
I’ll cherish
Until we meet again
And time makes
It harder
I wish I could remember
But I keep
Your memory
You visit me in my sleep
My darling
Who knew
My darling
My darling
Who knew
My darling
I miss you
My darling
Who knew
Who knew

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

