Top 50 Psychedelic Era Songs

Well, another Friday has come upon us.  You know that the topic of the day is music.  I really enjoyed doing the list last time so I have decided to return to this and compile another list for you.  Today’s list is the top 50 Psychedelic Era songs.  There are so many to choose from.  I will give you my top 20 and you can agree or disagree as you want.  There is no particular order to these songs so just because it is the first one does not mean that it is my favorite.  These songs are so drastically different, it is very hard to choose a definite order.  By all means, make your own and share it if you want to.  I did get pretty obscure here, so some of them you may have never heard of before.

Despite the fact that I was not born until 1977, I have this huge love of the Psychedelic era.  Namely, 1966 through the end of 1969.  It was an amazing time in our history.  Everyone was fighting for freedom.  They fought to try to make the word a simpler place, to have a simpler existence.

I think Johnny Depp said it best in the movie Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, playing the part of Hunter S. Thompson.  “Strange memories on this nervous night in Las Vegas, has it been 5 years?  6? It seems like a lifetime.  The kind of peak that never comes again. San Fransisco in the middle 60’s was a very special time and place to be a part of, but no explanation, no mix of words, or music, or memories can touch that sense of knowing that you were there and alive in that corner of time in the world.   Whatever it meant.  There was madness in any direction, at any hour, you can strike sparks anywhere.  There was a fantastic universal sense that Whatever we were doing was right, that we were winning, and that I think..was the handle.  That sense of inevitable victory over the forces of old and evil.  Not in any mean or military sense.  We didn’t need that. Our energy would simply prevail.  We had all the momentum.  We were riding the crest of a high and beautiful wave.  So now less than 5 years later, you could go up on a steep hill in Las Vegas and look west and with the right kind of eyes you can almost see the high water mark.  That place where the wave finally broke….and rolled back.”

Whatever it was, it was a special time and the likes of which will never come again.  We can remember it though and on of the best ways is through the music.  Oh what magical music it was.  Everything was so full of color.  Strange and unmistakable noises and sounds defined everything.  Nothing seemed out-of-bounds.  So, on this Friday, let’s take a little trip down memory lane.  For those of you who lived it, let’s go back, for those of you not born yet, enjoy some of the finest that this era had to offer.  Enjoy the trip! (no pun intended  lol)

Season of the Witch (Donovan)

White Rabbit (Jefferson Airplane)

Tomorrow Never Knows (Beatles)

Crimson and Clover (Tommy James and the Shondells)

Incense and Peppermints (Strawberry Alarm Clock)

The American Metaphysical Circus (The United States of America)

Summer ’68 (Pink Floyd)

A day In the Life Of a Tree (Beach Boys)

Grace (Country Joe and the Fish)

Are You Experienced (Jimi Hendrix Experience)

At the Mountains of Madness (H.P. Lovecraft)

Strawberry Fileds Forever (Beatles)

Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds (Beatles)

Dark Star (Grateful Dead)

Bass Strings (Country Joe and the Fish)

Sister Ray (The Velvet Underground)

Lonely Time (Brazda Brothers)

Mommy, What’s a Funkadelic? (Funkadelic)

The Lantern (Rolling Stones)

Dawn Storm (T Rex)

Strange Days (Doors)

White Bicycle (Tomorrow)

Pygmies in Zee Park (Chrome)

Crayon Angels (Judee Sill)

Translucent Carriages (Pearls Before Swine)

Beacon From Mars (Kaleidoscope)

Venus in Furs (The Velvet Underground)

Magoo (Country Joe and the Fish)

Comin’ Back to Me (Jefferson Airplane)

Astronomy Domine (Pink Floyd)

Feel Flows (Beach Boys)

The Parable of Arable Land (The Red Crayola)

Shifting Sand (West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band)

Horse Lattitudes (Doors)

Bracelets of Fingers (The Pretty Things)

The Red Telephone (Love)

Electrallentando (H.P. Lovecraft)

Castle in the Clouds (Gong)

Zig Zac Wanderer (Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band)

Section 43 (Country Joe and the Fish)

Eight Miles High (The Byrds)

I’ve Got Levitation (13th Floor Elevators)

Hallucinations (Tim Buckley)

Still I’m Sad (The Yardbirds)

Maiden of the Cancer Moon (Quicksilver Messenger Service)

Dear Mr. Fantasy (Traffic)

1906 (West Coast Pop Art Experimental Band)

 

Images of April (Pearls Before Swine)

Itchycoo Park (Small Faces)

Flashback (Moving Sidewalks)

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 50 Psychedelic Era Songs

  1. Moxy says:

    WHoooooo! You even got a Gong song! Right on, love it. Encore,encore!

Leave a Reply

