3 Things That Put The Kibosh on Quiet Time

Having quiet time is such an important part of having a well-balanced life.  This is a time when you can focus on your thoughts without any distractions and bring yourself back to center.  For me personally, this is a time when I like to pray and ask God what I should be doing with whatever life circumstances are facing me that particular day.  I also spend time reading the Bible (the best guidebook to life out there) or different books that we are going through in my various bible studies.  I also love to listen to online sermons.  I think the key is to change it up so you don’t get bored with doing the same thing everyday.

I know that when I was a child, sitting still for extended periods of time was very difficult for me.  It still is in many ways.  We tend to lead very busy lives and it is very hard to find the time.  I have found that it is important to schedule it right into my schedule.  I like to do it first thing in the morning.  I get up very early to work out so it is an ideal time for me.  I don’t get any phone calls or texts because most everyone is still asleep.  It just takes some discipline to do it each and every day.  That is my set time, but I also try to go back to God with little short spurts of quiet time throughout the day.  These consist mostly of short little prayers.  It can be 15 sec. to 5 min.  Whatever time allows.

Even with all this planning there are still 3 main things that I have found can really put me back to my old ways of not having quiet time daily if I let them consume me.  Here they are in no particular order:

Guilt

Whenever I’ve fallen short on a particular day or even weeks before that, I often beat myself up about it or force myself to spend twice as long in quiet time to make up for it.

Instead, I should remember that guilt is never a good thing for a Christian (Romans 8:1-4).  I should not relegate quiet time to just one time all day that I am spending with God.  This creates guilt when I am not making good decisions.  I need to snatch any available opportunity I get throughout my day, even if it is only for a few seconds, to be with God.

Wandering Thoughts

A distracted mind is a normal thing.  It doesn’t mean that I’m a bad Christian.  Our mind is a wonderful, amazing thing that is capable of doing many functions at once.  The problem is that if I give in to those wandering thoughts in my mind, I am not able to focus on God.

Instead, I should prepare my mind before I begin my quiet time.  Breathe deeply, and try to clear my mind from other thoughts the best that I can.  If my thoughts still wander, I should just simply bring them back and continue on.

Perfectionism

Quiet times don’t have to be perfect for them to count.  We are God’s wonderful creations, but we were not created to be perfect, so we really shouldn’t expect our quiet times to be perfect either.  If I am focused on my performance, it will interfere with the purpose which is enjoying God’s presence.

Instead, I should realize that God is interested in my attitude, not my quiet time habits.  I should just be still and ask God to give me a humble spirit.

Just remember, this is never something that you perfect, but with time and discipline, you can become much better at it.  I know that I have.  It has been a struggle though.  The benefits you will see through increased peace in your life will far outweight any time or effort you put into doing it.  So, happy quiet times everyone!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

