How to Have Quiet Time with God

If you are anything like me, finding time to have a quiet time with God can be a battle.  I swear I was ADHD when I was younger and I just struggle with being still and quiet for long periods of time.

Most of us struggle with finding a quiet time routine that works for us, sticking to it, or getting frustrated when God doesn’t show up the way we expect.  If your quiet time is lackluster or maybe non-existent, you might be feeling pretty ashamed of yourself as a Christian.  I know that I have felt this way.  Or you might be ready to throw in the towel.  I know that I have been there several times.

Quiet time is when we are working on developing our relationship with our Lord.  To not have quiet time is to not develop a relationship with God.  Can you imagine trying to have a relationship with someone and never taking the time to stop and talk to them?  I don’t think that one would last very long.

But there is hope for all of us!  As our relationship with God ebbs and flows during life, we can receive His grace and keep going.  We are not perfect while here on earth, so why in the world would God expect our quiet time with him to be.  The important thing is that you are trying to do it.

Wherever you are at with your relationship, here are a few ideas to help you start meeting with God in a fresh way:

Audio Devotional– Try downloading a daily devotional to you iPod.  Try pray-as-you-go.org.

Watch Sermon– Go to the website of your favorite church and either watch a sermon online or download it as an MP3 to your cell phone.  The ones I listen to are from the four churches I attend:

First Evangelical-Free Church of Ames     www.amesefc.org

Cornerstone Church of Ames    www.cornerstonelife.com

Prairie Lakes Church    www.prairielakeschurch.org

Heartland Vineyard Church     www.heartlandvineyard.org

Each of them is outstanding in their own way.  They are the four corners of the foundation of me getting through my weeks.

Download the Bible-You can download the Bible to your Blackberry, Android, iPod Touch, or iPhone.  Here are some ideas: Try the free Holman Christian Standard Bible’s digital Text Edition Droid app bppublishinggroup.com/digital.  If you have an Android phone you can download the Bible for free that has about every translation you can imagine.  Download it at www.youversion.com.

Listen to a Christian Song– Listen to a Christian radio station while driving in your car.  Download Christian songs as an MP3 to your cell phone.  Try finding one at christianaudio.com.  You can also get a free MP3 music download ap for your Android phone.  I have one and I love it.  It stores your music by artist and title for you to look up later.

Study the Bible– You can study the Bible on your cell phone.  If you have an iPhone try mantisbible.com.  If you have an Android phone check out lifechurch.tv.

Subscribe to an E-mail Devotional– You can sign up to have an email sent to you each day that contains a devotion of the day.  You can read this either on your computer or your cell phone.  Try Upper Room Daily Reflections at upperroom.org.  Another really good one to try is biblegateway.com.

Subscribe to a Bible Reading Plan– You can sign up to read through all or a portion of the Bible over whatever period of time you specify.  You will receive a daily email.  Just read that email each day and you will get through the Bible faster than you think.  Try biblegateway.com.  They have many options for plans including men of the Bible and women of the Bible.

The truth is that their is no right or wrong way to have quiet time with God.  The important part is to just do it.  So JUST DO IT.  Make it a priority and make it happen!

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in God. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

