How is My Vision?

Well I hope that everyone is doing very well today.  Hopefully you have had a chance to do some thinking about what some of your dreams might be.  It’s OK if you need a little more time to think of what they are.  Dreams are big stuff so you must be sure that your dreams fit you.

Today we are going to be talking about making a vision statement for yourself.  What is a vision statement?

A vision statement is sometimes called a picture of yourself in the future but it’s so much more than that. Your vision statement is your inspiration, the framework for all your strategic planning.  It asks the question “Where do I want to go?”

What you are doing when creating a vision statement is articulating your dreams and hopes for yourself. It reminds you of what you are trying to build.

While a vision statement doesn’t tell you how you’re going to get there, it does set the direction for your planning.  That’s why it’s important when crafting a vision statement to let your imagination go and dare to dream – and why it’s important that a vision statement captures your passion.

When writing a vision statement, your core competencies can be a valuable starting point for articulating your values. Be sure when you’re creating one not to fall into the trap of only thinking ahead a year or two. Once you have one, your vision statement will have a huge influence on decision-making and the way you allocate your goals.

Don’t make your vision statement too long though.  It is important that you keep it brief.  Don’t make it any more than two sentences.

If you look at successful businesses, they all have vision statements.  If all these successful businesses have them then why in the world do we think that we as individuals don’t need to have them?  I’m not the smartest person in the world, but it seems to me that if you want to be successful, you should do what the people who are successful do.

So now it is time to write a vision statement for ourselves.  Where do I begin you say?  Well just take a piece of paper and write down one or two words that best describe where you see yourself heading in life.  Then simply craft a sentence or two around that word or two.  I know it is hard, but it is very important that you take the time to do this.

Here is a website that you can check out that has some samples of vision statements that some different companies have.  http://www.skills2lead.com/sample-vision-statements.html.

Here is the vision statement that I created for myself:

To develop myself in a spiritually responsible, technically excellent way so that I can maximize my full potential in Christ and be a shining example of doing things the right way to all the people I encounter in life.

As you work on your vision statements, please post them as a reply to this blog.  That way we can all see what you came up with and hopefully, we can help each other through sharing.

Be sure to come back tomorrow when we talk about setting goals.

About wmarsau

Most of the people who visit this blog already know me so it is kind of pointless to try to describe my life in this short little blurb. What is the purpose of this blog is the question. Over the course of this last year I have been exposed to some amazing people and have made personal development an important focus of my life. Being successful, not by the world's standards, but by God's has become my main focus. Mainly, I want to work to develop myself as a person who is kinder, reaches out to help those in need, and truly makes a difference in this world. To this end I am constantly reading and am exposed to so many differnet things along the way. These have been amazing and it is helping me grow so much. Then I started to think, "Why am I being so selfish?" You need to share with others these amazing things you are learning and being exposed to. That is where this blog comes into play. As I am reading and experiencing things that are truly amazing and life changing, I will be posting them on this blog. Obviously, I will not be able to post everything in it's entirity, but I will be summarizing them and letting you know the source of the article or book they come from so you can check them out later if you wish. I want this blog to be a place where you can go to often and be inspired and leave here with a smile on your face. I will be covering all kinds of different topics dealing with success and personal development. Topics like taking action, relationships, living to your potential, reinventing yourself, finances, leadership, presenting, goal setting, time management, etc. I will also be occasionally including topics on cooking, music, and gardening because they are special interests of mine. As a little disclaimer, I have given my life to the Lord and he is #1 in my life. I am his servant and everything I do in life is for his glory. With that being said, religion influences all areas of my life. There will be references to God in this blog because I can't seperate God from this or any other area of my life. I want you to know that if you do not believe in God, that is fine. That is your choice. This blog is open to anyone who wants to better their life. I will not be trying to influence or pressure anyone into having a relationship with the Lord from this site. Please don't feel uncomfortable. You can just read the portions of the blog that you wish to. I am inviting you to go on a journey with me. We will learn together to be the kind of people we were designed to be. Anyone can make a difference in this world, but it starts%
This entry was posted in Dreams/Goals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

